The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

The Runaways – “The Mercury Albums Anthology” Revealed

leave a comment »

After announcing it a few weeks ago (and teasing all about it on Twitter today) Hip-O Select has started pre-orders for The Mercury Albums Anthology, a two-disc compilation of nearly all of the albums released by the proto-riot-grrl group that launched the careers of Joan Jett, Lita Ford and other female rock luminaries.

The set itself looks pretty straightforward. The band’s first four albums – The Runaways (1976), Queens of Noise (1977), Live in Japan (1977) and Waitin’ for the Night (1977) – are presented on the two discs with no bonus tracks. (Note that the group’s final album, And Now…The Runaways (1979), was eventually released in 1981 by Rhino Records as the resequenced Little Lost Girls.)

It is odd, though, that no liner notes are mentioned – Hip-O Select usually delivers the goods in their packaging and do a good job of saying so when it’s time to attract buyers. Hopefully time will prove us wrong. View the tracks after the jump.

Disc 1

  1. Cherry Bomb
  2. You Drive Me Wild
  3. Is It Day or Night?
  4. Thunder
  5. Rock & Roll
  6. Lovers
  7. American Nights
  8. Blackmail
  9. Secrets
  10. Dead End Justice
  11. Queens of Noise (Live)
  12. California Paradise (Live)
  13. All Right You Guys (Live)
  14. Wild Thing (Live)
  15. Getting Hot (Live)
  16. Rock & Roll (Live)
  17. You Drive Me Wild (Live)
  18. Neon Angels on the Road to Ruin (Live)
  19. I Wanna Be Where the Boys Are (Live)
  20. Cherry Bomb (Live)
  21. American Nights (Live)
  22. C’mon (Live)

Tracks 1-10 released as The Runaways (Mercury SRM-1-1090, 1977)
Tracks 11-22 released as Live in Japan (Mercury SRM-1-3740, 1977)

Disc 2

  1. Queens of Noise
  2. Take It or Leave It
  3. Midnight Music
  4. Born to Be Bad
  5. Neon Angels on the Road to Ruin
  6. I Love Playin’ with Fire
  7. California Paradise
  8. Hollywood
  9. Heartbeat
  10. Johnny Guitar
  11. Little Sister
  12. Wasted
  13. Gotta Get Out Tonight
  14. Wait for Me
  15. Fantasies
  16. School Days
  17. Trash Can Murders
  18. Don’t Go Away
  19. Waitin’ for the Night
  20. You’re Too Possessive

Tracks 1-10 released as Queens of Noise (Mercury SRM-1- 1126, 1977)
Tracks 11-20 released as Waitin’ for the Night (Mercury SRM-1-3705, 1977)

Written by Mike Duquette

February 10, 2010 at 21:47

Posted in News, Reissues, The Runaways

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: