The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

In Case You Missed It: Monsieur Hathaway

with 3 comments

A little bit of old news for you, but a must-know if you didn’t already: the folks at Rhino have put together Someday We’ll All Be Free, a four-disc overview of soul singer Donny Hathaway’s brief but powerful career. The set includes all four studio albums, a heap of live tracks, and seven previously unreleased recordings.

Here’s the catch, though: it seems that it’s only available – as a 5,000-copy limited edition, at that – in France. While I had little to no idea of Hathaway’s apparently strong French fanbase (strong enough to warrant such a set, at least), I suppose there’s a first time for everything – and hopefully the seven vault tracks will make their way to our shores before too long.

In the meantime, fans who need to fully flesh out their collection can take a look at the set’s Amazon page or hit the jump for the specs.

Donny Hathaway – Someday We’ll All Be Free (Rhino/Atlantic)

Disc 1

  1. Voices Inside (Everything is Everything)
  2. Je Vous Aime (I Love You)
  3. I Believe to My Soul
  4. Misty
  5. Sugar Lee
  6. Tryin’ Times
  7. Thank You Master (for My Soul)
  8. The Ghetto
  9. To Be Young, Gifted and Black
  10. Giving Up
  11. A Song for You
  12. Little Girl
  13. He Ain’t Heavy, He’s My Brother
  14. Magnificent Sanctuary Band
  15. She is My Lady
  16. I Believe in Music

Disc 2

  1. Take a Love Song
  2. Put Your Hand in the Hand
  3. I Love The Lord; He Heard My Cry, Parts 1 & 2
  4. Someday We’ll All Be Free
  5. Flying Easy
  6. Valdez in the Country
  7. I Love You More Than You’ll Ever Know
  8. Come Little Children
  9. Love, Love, Love
  10. The Slums
  11. Magdelena
  12. I Know It’s You
  13. Jealous Guy (Studio Version) *
  14. No Other One But You (1974 Demo) *
  15. The Essence of Destiny (1974 Demo) *
  16. Going Down (1974 Demo) *
  17. Make It on Your Own (1978 Demo) *

Disc 3

  1. This Christmas
  2. Little Ghetto Boy
  3. A Dream
  4. Be There
  5. Lord Help Me
  6. You Were Meant for Me
  7. What a Woman Really Means
  8. What’s Going On (Live at the Troubadour)
  9. The Ghetto (Live at the Troubadour)
  10. Hey Girl (Live at the Troubador)
  11. You’ve Got a Friend (Live at the Troubadour)
  12. Little Ghetto Boy (Live at the Bitter End)
  13. We’re Still Friends (Live at the Bitter End)
  14. Jealous Guy (Live at the Bitter End)
  15. Voices Inside (Everything is Everything) (Live at the Bitter End)

Disc 4

  1. To Be Young, Gifted and Black (Live at the Troubador)
  2. A Song for You (Live at the Troubador)
  3. I Love You More Than You’ll Ever Know (Live at the Bitter End)
  4. We Need You Right Now (Live at the Troubador)
  5. Sack Full of Dreams (Live at the Troubador)
  6. He Ain’t Heavy, He’s My Brother (Live)
  7. Yesterday (Live)
  8. Superwoman (Live)
  9. Flying Easy (Live)
  10. Valdez in the Country (Live)
  11. Someday We’ll All Be Free (Live)
  12. Nu-Po (Live at Newport 1973) *
  13. Love, Love, Love (Live at Newport 1973) *

Disc 1 Tracks 1-9 released as Everything is Everything – Atco SD 33-332, 1970
Disc 1 Tracks 10-16 and Disc 2 Tracks 1-2 released as Donny Hathaway – Atco SD 33-360, 1971
Disc 2 Tracks 3-12 released as Extension of a Man – Atco SD 7029, 1973
Disc 2 Tracks 13-17  and Disc 4 Tracks 12-13 previously unreleased
Disc 3 Track 1 from
Soul Christmas – Atco SD 33-269, 1968
Disc 3 Track 2 from
Come Back Charleston Blue soundtrack Atco SD 7010, 1972
Disc 3 Track 3 was a bonus track on the reissue of Everything is Everything – Rhino R2 72216, 1993
Disc 3 Track 4 is a non-LP B-side to “This Christmas” – Atco 6799, 1970
Disc 3 Track 5 is a non-LP B-side to “I Love You More Than You Will Ever Know” – Atlantic K 10257 (U.K.), 1972
Disc 3 Track 6 from The Best of Donny Hathaway – Atco SD 38-107, 1978
Disc 3 Track 7 from Atlantic Unearthed: Soul Brothers compilationRhino R2 77625, 2006
Disc 3 Tracks 8-15 released as Live – Atco SD 33-386, 1972
Disc 4 Tracks 1-5 released as
In Performance – Atlantic SD 19278, 1980 (for some reason the box is missing the live rendition of “Nu-Po” that should be the third track on this disc)
Disc 4 Tracks 6-11 released on
These Songs for You, Live! –  Rhino R2 78075, 2004

Written by Mike Duquette

March 31, 2010 at 00:13

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Nice overview of Hatahway’s work but it’s missing the duets that he had with Roberta Flack. Rhino/Atlantic should do a 2CD collection for Donny Hathaway (and one that should have the duets with Flack).

    Eddie Scott

    March 31, 2010 at 08:30

    • Rhino/Atlantic did plan to release “Love,Love,Love: The Donny Hathaway Anthology back in 2003. It was a 35 track, 2 disc set that included many of Donny’s hits, Roberta Flack Duets and rarities. Roberta Flack would not approve her Duets with Donny , so it was shelved. This box set contains some of the rare demos. Completists just have to obtain The 1972 album, the 1980 album and Blue Notes in The Basement as well as Roberta’s compilations and/ or The Donny Hathaway Collection.

      Steve Marshall

      April 5, 2011 at 03:30

  2. Somebody got a full tracklist of that Love, Love, Love Anthology?

    Karel Eesmal

    April 23, 2012 at 10:06

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: