The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

The Not-So-Finer Things

with 3 comments

The announcement of Revelutions: The Very Best of Steve Winwood – a new compilation from Island available as either a single-disc compilation or a four-disc box set – should be exciting. Winwood is a hell of a musician whose illustrious career has seen him work with Blind Faith, Traffic and The Spencer Davis Group, not to mention his own successful solo work.

But this set is boring, not just for its lack of vault content but because it’s essentially been released before. The Finer Things was a 1995 box set that covered Winwood’s career just as well; the choice to regurgitate much of the same material from the earlier set on Revolutions is kind of sad. (All told, about 40 of the 63 tracks from The Finer Things end up on this set.) You’d think the money could be better spent by at least repressing some of his material back on CD (a lot of those solo albums before “Higher Love” are hard to come by.)

Then of course, there’s the inexplicable omission of “Roll with It,” a four-week No. 1 hit in the U.S., from the box set track list. (It is included on the single-disc Revolutions – here’s hoping for a typo).

Anyway, if you’d at least like to see what’s going to be on the box set, you can have a go at the jump.

Revolutions: The Very Best of Steve Winwood

Disc 1

  1. Keep On Running – Spencer Davis Group
  2. Somebody Help Me – Spencer Davis Group
  3. Gimme Some Lovin’ – Spencer Davis Group
  4. I’m a Man – Spencer Davis Group
  5. Paper Sun – Traffic
  6. Coloured Rain – Traffic
  7. No Face, No Name, No Number – Traffic
  8. Heaven is in Your Mind – Traffic
  9. Smiling Phases – Traffic
  10. Dear Mr. Fantasy – Traffic
  11. Pearly Queen – Traffic
  12. (Roamin’ Thru the Gloamin’ with) 40,000 Headmen – Traffic
  13. No Time to Live – Traffic
  14. Who Knows What Tomorrow May Bring – Traffic
  15. Shanghai Noodle Factory – Traffic
  16. Medicated Goo – Traffic
  17. Withering Tree – Traffic
  18. Well Alright – Blind Faith
  19. Can’t Find My Way Home – Blind Faith
  20. Presence of The Lord – Blind Faith

Disc 2

  1. Stranger to Himself – Traffic
  2. John Barleycorn – Traffic
  3. Glad – Traffic
  4. Freedom Rider – Traffic
  5. Empty Pages – Traffic
  6. The Low Spark of High-Heeled Boys – Traffic
  7. Rainmaker – Traffic
  8. Shoot Out at the Fantasy Factory – Traffic
  9. Something New – Traffic
  10. Walking in the Wind – Traffic
  11. When the Eagle Flies – Traffic
  12. Mozambique – Traffic

Disc 3

  1. Vacant Chair – Steve Winwood
  2. While You See a Chance – Steve Winwood
  3. Arc of a Diver – Steve Winwood
  4. Spanish Dancer – Steve Winwood
  5. Night Train – Steve Winwood
  6. Valerie – Steve Winwood
  7. Higher Love – Steve Winwood
  8. Freedom Overspill – Steve Winwood
  9. Back In The High Life Again – Steve Winwood
  10. Don’t You Know What the Night Can Do – Steve Winwood
  11. Spy in the House of Love – Steve Winwood
  12. Different Light – Steve Winwood
  13. Dirty City – Steve Winwood

Disc 4

  1. This Hammer – Spencer Davis Group
  2. Waltz for Lumumba – Spencer Davis Group
  3. When I Come Home – Spencer Davis Group
  4. Love – Traffic
  5. In the Light of Day – Steve Winwood
  6. There’s a River – Steve Winwood
  7. Hold On – Steve Winwood
  8. The Morning Side – Steve Winwood
  9. Far From Home – Traffic
  10. Holy Ground – Traffic
  11. State of Grace – Traffic
  12. Why Can’t We Live Together – Steve Winwood
  13. Domingo Morning – Steve Winwood

Disc 1 Track 1 and Disc 4 Track 1 from The Second Album (Fontana, 1966)
Disc 1 Track 2 and Disc 4 Track 3 from Autumn ’66 (Fontana, 1966)
Disc 1 Track 3 from Gimme Some Lovin’ (United Artists, 1967)
Disc 1 Track 4 is a non-LP single (Fontana, 1967)
Disc 1 Track 5 is a non-LP single (Island, 1967)
Disc 1 Tracks 6-8 and 10 from Mr. Fantasy (Island, 1967)
Disc 1 Track 9 is the non-LP B-side to “Hole in My Shoe” (Island, 1967)
Disc 1 Tracks 11-14 from Traffic (Island, 1968)
Disc 1 Track 15 and 16 were a non-LP single (Island, 1968) later relased on Last Exit (Island, 1969)
Disc 1 Track 17 is the non-LP B-side to “Feelin’ Alright” (Island, 1968) later released on Last Exit (Island, 1969)
Disc 1 Tracks 18-20 from Blind Faith (Polydor, 1969)
Disc 2 Tracks 1-5 from John Barleycorn Must Die (Island, 1970)
Disc 2 Tracks 6-7 from The Low Spark of High-Heeled Boys (Island, 1971)
Disc 2 Track 8 from Shoot Out at the Fantasy Factory (Island, 1973)
Disc 2 Tracks 9-11 and Disc 4 Track 4 from When the Eagle Flies (Island, 1974)
Disc 2 Track 12 and Disc 4 Tracks 9-11 from Far From Home (Virgin, 1994)
Disc 3 Track 1 and Disc 4 Track 7 from Steve Winwood (Island, 1977)
Disc 3 Tracks 2-5 from Arc of a Diver (Island, 1980)
Disc 3 Track 6 and Disc 4 Track 6 from Talking Back to the Night (Island, 1982)
Disc 3 Tracks 7-9 from Back in the High Life (Island, 1986)
Disc 3 Track 10 and Disc 4 Track 8 from Roll with It (Virgin, 1988)
Disc 3 Track 11 from Junction Seven (Virgin, 1997)
Disc 3 Track 12 and Disc 4 Track 12 and 13 from About Time (Sanctuary/Wincraft, 2003)
Disc 3 Track 13 from Nine Lives (Columbia, 2008)
Disc 4 Track 2 from The Best of The Spencer Davis Group featuring Steve Winwood (Island, 1970)
Disc 4 Track 5 from Refugees of the Heart (Virgin, 1990)

Written by Mike Duquette

March 31, 2010 at 20:20

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. So the first three discs are chronological, then Disc 4 is a catch-all? “The Finer Things” is SO much the better Winwood retrospective, it’s not even funny. Simply adding a fifth disc to take us from 1990-present would have been the better choice.

    No “Roll With It” is just inexcusable. And they still haven’t thought to stick “Rock and Roll Stew” on here?


    April 1, 2010 at 09:26

  2. Did Winwood write “Rock & Roll Stew”? I know he’s not the one who sang it with Traffic! That’s why it’s not included.

    Anyhow, my interest in solo Winwood stops before the pop stardom of the Back In the High Life album, and then picks up again with the solid (though somewhat weak, lyrically) About Time album from a few years ago. Even so, there are some omissions I’d have liked… What about “Still In the Game”? That got some play on MTV in the early-mid 80’s. The title track to Talking Back to the Night would’ve been a good choice too. How about the B-side cover of Hendrix’s “Voodoo Chile” from the About Time sessions?
    Omitting “Roll With It,” given what a monster hit it was, is ridiculous.

    Great stuff from Traffic and Blind Faith, but nothing that isn’t readily available elsewhere. With the Deluxe Edition of the Blind Faith album now out of print (I think?) that’s a shame they didn’t load up more on this set.


    April 22, 2010 at 21:49

  3. […] But that field is hard to play, especially as the market gets more and more saturated. Epic’s four-disc Michael Jackson: The Ultimate Collection has about one disc of worthwhile material if you’ve already bought most of his albums on CD. Same goes for the new Mellencamp set – and don’t even get me started on the upcoming Steve Winwood box. […]

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: