The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

The Chairman from Ipanema

leave a comment »

Frank Sinatra. Antonio Carlos Jobim. Two great musical tastes that taste great together. Ol’ Blue Eyes brought his inimitable voice to the smooth bossa nova compositions of Jobim in 1967 with the LP Francis Albert Sinatra & Antonio Carlos Jobim, in which the two teamed up on Jobim’s best tracks (“The Girl from Ipanema,” “How Insensitive”) and some great standards as well (Berlin’s “Change Partners,” Porter’s “I Concentrate on You”). Four years later, another Sinatra-Jobim session yielded one side of the 1971 release Sinatra & Company.

Now, on May 4, all the Sinatra-Jobim tracks (including a few hard to find offerings) will be available on one compilation. Sinatra/Jobim: The Complete Reprise Recordings is the first American compilation of these 20 great hits (a Brazillian double-LP, Sinatra-Jobim Sessions (1979), had 19 of these tracks and two bossa nova cuts not featuring Jobim).

Pre-order from Amazon and have a look at the tracks after the jump.

Frank Sinatra and Antonio Carlos Jobim – Sinatra/Jobim: The Complete Reprise Recordings

  1. The Girl from Ipanema (Gârota De Ipanema)
  2. Dindi
  3. Change Partners
  4. Quiet Nights of Quiet Stars (Corcovado)
  5. Meditation (Meditacão)
  6. If You Never Come to Me
  7. How Insensitive (Insensatez)
  8. I Concentrate on You
  9. Baubles, Bangles and Beads
  10. Once I Loved (O Amoren Paz)
  11. The Song of the Sabia
  12. Drinking Water (Agua de Beber)
  13. Someone to Light Up My Life
  14. Triste
  15. This Happy Madness (Estrada Branca)
  16. One Note Samba (Samba de Uma Nota So)
  17. Don’t Ever Go Away (Por Causas de Voce)
  18. Wave
  19. Off Key (Desafinado)
  20. Bonita

Tracks 1-10 originally released as Francis Albert Sinatra & Antonio Carlos Jobim (Reprise FS-1021, 1967)
Tracks 11-20 intended as Sinatra-Jobim (cancelled 8-track – Reprise 8FJ-1028, 1970)
Track 11 later released as non-LP B-side to “Lady Day” single (Reprise 0970, 1970)
Tracks 12-18 later released on Sinatra & Company (Reprise FS-1033, 1971)
Track 19 later released on The Complete Reprise Studio Recordings (Reprise 46013-2, 1998)
Track 20 later released on U.K. compilation Portrait of Sinatra: 40 Songs from the Life of a Man (Reprise K 64039, 1977)

Written by Mike Duquette

April 16, 2010 at 00:35

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: