The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

Soundtrack Miracles and More

leave a comment »

A heads-up for two brand-new releases from indie soundtrack label Intrada. This week’s batch is quite eclectic: first up is Laurence Rosenthal’s score to the classic 1962 film version of The Miracle Worker, available for the first time on CD. This disc is sourced from Rosenthal’s own first-generation mono 1/4″ tapes and produced with full support from Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer, the film’s distributor. This is a limited one at just 1,000 copies, so act fast.

Intrada’s other release turns to the small screen with a popular television drama from the recent past: JAG. Created by T.V. legend Donald P. Bellisario (Magnum P.I., Quantum Leap, JAG spin-off NCIS), the long-running legal drama about members of the military’s legal eagles (the Judge Advocate General’s Corps, or JAG for short) has two episodes presented on one disc. There’s the original pilot episode, scored by Bruce Broughton (who composed the series’ memorable theme), and the score to second-season episode “Cowboys and Cossacks,” written by Steve Bramson. This set is an unlimited release.

As always, you can preview clips of the scores and order them at Intrada’s official site. Take a look at the track listings after the jump!

Laurence Rosenthal – The Miracle Worker (Intrada Special Collection Vol. 130)

  1. Main Title: Helen Alone (2:20)
  2. The Train (3:20)
  3. Hands (2:04)
  4. Doll and Ladder (4:38)
  5. She Folded Her Napkin (1:10)
  6. To the Garden House (2:49)
  7. Nightmare (1:57)
  8. Lullaby (2:02)
  9. Teaching (4:48)
  10. Let Her Come (3:57)
  11. Come to Supper (0:50)
  12. The Miracle (2:50)
  13. Epilogue: Helen and Annie (1:59)

TOTAL: 35:10
All tracks previously unreleased on CD

Bruce Broughton and Steve Bramson – JAG: Original Television Soundtrack (Intrada MAF 7107)

  1. Engage and Destroy/Main Title (4:42)
  2. Getting Some Air/Angela Overboard (2:39)
  3. Harm and Kate Arrive (2:21)
  4. Harm’s Past/Over Bosnia (1:55)
  5. Gold Wings & Dress Whites/Wave Off (1:31)
  6. Contemplation (0:27)
  7. Joyride (1:49)
  8. Angela on a Slab (1:34)
  9. Playout (0:15)
  10. Scuttlebutt’s True (4:27)
  11. To Hell and Back, Sir/Let’m Trap! (6:05)
  12. Harm Does It (3:25)
  13. Judgement Call (2:09)
  14. Gold Wings, White Uniform (1:56)
  15. End Credits (0:57)
  16. Format Bumper (0:07)
  17. Teaser (1:43)
  18. Format Main Title (0:47)
  19. Act One Playon/Exchange (1:20)
  20. Fire!/Grinkov (4:29)
  21. One Rule of War (1:16)
  22. Jumping Ship/Convincing Yuri (2:12)
  23. Yuri Turns (1:57)
  24. To the Brig/Boxing Petavitch (1:41)
  25. Live Missile (0:42)
  26. This is War (3:05)
  27. Grinkov Relents (4:26)
  28. A Sailor’s Death/Format End Credits (1:44)

TOTAL: 1:01:41
Tracks 1-15 from “Pilot” (1995) – composed and conducted by Bruce Broughton
Tracks 16-30 from “Cowboys and Cossacks” (1997) – composed and conducted by Steve Bramson, based on themes composed by Bruce Broughton
All tracks previously unreleased on CD except Track 26 – released on composer promo disc

Written by Mike Duquette

April 27, 2010 at 10:27

Posted in News, Soundtracks

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: