The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

Release Round Up: More from Hip-o

leave a comment »

A rare weekend post to keep you up on two new Hip-o Select titles readied for order yesterday. One’s a singles compilation for an R&B great, and the other is a two-for-one set from a noted reggae act.

Get the specs (and two more Hip-o titles you might not know about) after the jump.

Thirty-five years after it was first released, Burning Spear’s Marcus Garvey is getting a new remaster alongside its dub follow-up, Garvey’s Ghost. These albums were the seminal reggae artist’s third and fourth, respectively (and first two for Island Records, after two LPs on Jamaican label Studio One). The liner notes will include “an extensive essay based on conversations with drummer Horsemouth Wallace, Culture’s Joseph Hill and deejay Big Youth,” according to the pre-order page.

Burning Spear, Marcus Garvey/Garvey’s Ghost

  1. Marcus Garvey
  2. Slavery Days
  3. The Invasion
  4. Live Good
  5. Give Me
  6. Old Marcus Garvey
  7. Tradition
  8. Jordan River
  9. Red, Gold and Green
  10. Resting Place
  11. The Ghost
  12. I and I Survive
  13. Black Wa-Da-Da
  14. John Burns Skank
  15. Brain Food
  16. Farther East of Jack
  17. 2000 Years
  18. Dread River
  19. Workshop
  20. Reggaelation

Tracks 1-10 released as Marcus Garvey – Island ILPS 9377, 1975
Tracks 11-20 released as
Garvey’s Ghost – Island ILPS 9382, 1976

Next up is a limited edition release, Lover Please: The Complete M-G-M & Mercury Singles by Clyde McPhatter. Known as a soul pioneer not only for his solo work but for his recordings with Billy Ward and His Dominoes and The Drifters (a group he founded), this is the first-ever collection of his singles as released on the M-G-M and Mercury labels from 1959 to 1965. This set includes some of his best-known works, including the pop crossovers “Lover Please” and “Little Bitty Pretty One” (covered a decade later by The Jackson 5). This set, limited to 5000, copies, also includes liner notes penned by Bill Dahl (whom you may know from The Complete Motown Singles series). Get it here and check the tracks below.

Clyde McPhatter, Lover Please: The Complete M-G-M & Mercury Singles

Disc 1

  1. I Told Myself a Lie
  2. (I’m Afraid) The Masquerade is Over
  3. Twice as Nice
  4. Where Did I Make My Mistake
  5. Let’s Try Again
  6. Bless You
  7. Think Me a Kiss
  8. When the Right Time Comes Along
  9. One Right After Another
  10. This is Not Goodbye
  11. The Glory of Love
  12. Take a Step
  13. TA TA
  14. I Ain’t Giving Up Nothing (If I Can’t Get Somethin’ from You)
  15. I Just Wanna Love You
  16. You’re for Me
  17. One More Chance
  18. Before I Fall in Love Again (I’ll Count to Ten)
  19. Tomorrow is A-Comin’
  20. I’ll Love You Till the Cows Come Home
  21. I’ll Love You Till the Cows Come Home
  22. You’re Moving Me

Disc 2

  1. I Never Knew
  2. Happiness
  3. Same Time, Same Place
  4. Your Second Chance
  5. Lover Please
  6. Let’s Forget About the Past
  7. Little Bitty Pretty One
  8. Next to Me (Mono Single Version)
  9. Maybe
  10. I Do Believe
  11. The Best Man Cried
  12. Stop
  13. So Close to Being in Love
  14. From One to One
  15. Deep in the Heart of Harlem
  16. Happy Good Times
  17. Second Window, Second Floor
  18. In My Tenement
  19. Lucille

But that’s not all Hip-o fans can expect in the coming months. Eagle-eyed readers of the label’s mailing list a few weeks back may have noticed another title to be announced soon – an expanded edition of the ultra-rare I am My Brother’s Keeper, the 1970 one-time-only studio collaboration between David Ruffin of The Temptations and his brother Jimmy (singer of “What Becomes of the Brokenhearted”). And then there’s a small date announcement that MusicTAP revealed awhile back – a June 22 release of The Jackson 5 Live at the Forum. But what exactly could that be? Well…would you believe it’s more than one show? And would you further believe it’s better than any live J5 material you’ve ever heard?

Stay tuned, folks…spring’s going to be heating up with reissues!

Written by Mike Duquette

May 8, 2010 at 15:10

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: