The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

Better Tending to the Flock

leave a comment »

The U.K.-based reissue label Cherry Pop Records announced an upcoming reissue of Listen, the sophomore LP by seminal New Wave band A Flock of Seagulls, for a June 22 release. The set features the original album plus two remixes and three B-sides.

Now, a lot of catalogue fans have taken issue with Cherry Pop reissues – some of their reissues (as is regrettably the case with other smaller labels) don’t sound like they’re even mastered from the original tapes, and the bonus track situations sometimes confuse completists looking for every commercially released track. This post is not about those issues (although there are some non-LP tracks that seem to be missing from this set).

Listen is Cherry Pop’s second A Flock of Seagulls reissue, after an expanded version of the band’s 1984 record The Story of a Young Heart. That begs the question: where is the reissue of the band’s self-titled debut – you know, the one with “I Ran (So Far Away),” the band’s most enduring hit?

The Second Disc is all for reissue labels digging up curiosities from bigger labels. But let’s not forget the impact of those hits, too. Ponder that as you hit the jump and check out not only the track list for the new edition of Listen but a special Reissue Theory look at how that first record might look from Cherry Pop.

A Flock of Seagulls, Listen (Cherry Pop CRPOP5# (catalog # not released yet, 2010)

  1. Wishing (If I Had a Photograph of You)
  2. Nightmares
  3. Transfer Affection
  4. What Am I Supposed to Do
  5. Electrics
  6. The Traveller
  7. 2:30
  8. Over the Border
  9. The Fall
  10. (It’s Not Me) Talking
  11. Wishing (If I Had a Photograph of You) (Extended Version)
  12. Committed
  13. Nightmares (12″ Version)
  14. Quicksand
  15. Tanglimara

Tracks 1-10 released as U.K. LP – Jive HIP 4, 1983
Track 11-12 released as U.K. 12″ single – Jive T 25, 1982
Track 13 released as U.K. 12″ A-side – Jive T 33, 1983
Track 14 released as U.K. 12″ B-side to “Transfer Affection” – Jive T 41, 1983
Track 15 originally released as U.K. 12″ B-side to “Telecommunication” – Jive T 4, 1983

And now, your Reissue Theory version of the band’s self-titled debut:

A Flock of Seagulls, A Flock of Seagulls (originally released as Jive HOP 201 (U.K.)/VA 33003 (U.S.), 1982)

  1. I Ran (So Far Away)
  2. Space Age Love Song
  3. You Can Run
  4. Don’t Ask Me
  5. Messages
  6. Telecommunication
  7. Modern Love is Automatic
  8. Standing in the Doorway
  9. D.N.A.
  10. Man Made
  11. Talking (12″ Remix) (12″ A-side – Cocteau COQ T 38, 1981)
  12. Factory Music (12″ B-side – Cocteau COQ T 38, 1981)
  13. Windows (from Modern Love is Automatic EP – Jive 8, 1981)
  14. Intro (B-side to “Telecommunication” – Jive 4, 1982)
  15. Pick Me Up (B-side to “I Ran” – Jive 14, 1982)
  16. Rosenmontag (12″ B-side to “Nightmares” – Jive T 33, 1982)
  17. The Last Flight of Yuri Gagarin (12″ B-side to “Nightmares” – Jive T 33, 1982)
  18. Tokyo (extra track on some pressings – same cat. # as original LP)

Written by Mike Duquette

May 10, 2010 at 00:00

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: