The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

Jackson 5 in Fine “Forum”

leave a comment »

The Second Disc is pleased to pass along the long-awaited track list for Hip-o Select’s upcoming Live @ The Forum by The Jackson 5.

This two-disc set, to be released June 22 – almost a year to the day since Michael Jackson passed away – collects two previously unreleased shows recorded at the legendary Los Angeles venue: one taken from a week before the J5 scored their third consecutive No. 1 with their third single (“The Love You Save”), and another just days before Michael turned 14.

The Second Disc can attest, from our ears to yours, that this is some of the best live Jackson 5 material available. Hip-o Select’s reissue of In Japan! (previously only available in said country) was sterilely recorded at best, and captured Michael at a difficult vocal transition period. The material from both these shows is tight and well-arranged (not to mention full of some intriguing covers), and the audience responds in kind.

And rarity hunters have got a few things to smile about over this set: a pair of additional live bonus tracks – one from the concert that formed the basis of the band’s Goin’ Back to Indiana TV special and another from the long-out-of-print Motown live LP Save the Children.

Check out the tracks after the jump, and get the Amazon pre-order link here.

The Jackson 5, Live @ The Forum (Motown/Hip-o Select)

Disc 1

  1. Introduction
  2. I Want You Back
  3. Feelin’ Alright
  4. Who’s Lovin’ You
  5. Walk On
  6. Don’t Know Why I Love You
  7. Zip-a-Dee-Doo-Dah
  8. ABC
  9. It’s Your Thing
  10. I Found That Girl
  11. There Was a Time
  12. Thank You Falettinme Be Mice Elf Agin
  13. The Love You Save
  14. Mama’s Pearl

Disc 2

  1. Brand New Thing
  2. Medley: I Want You Back/ABC/Mama’s Pearl
  3. Sugar Daddy
  4. I’ll Be There
  5. Introduction by Michael
  6. Goin’ Back to Indiana/Brand New Thing/Goin’ Back to Indiana
  7. Bridge Over Troubled Water
  8. I Found That Girl
  9. I’m So Happy
  10. Lookin’ Through the Windows
  11. Ain’t Nothing Like the Real Thing
  12. Introduction by Jackie
  13. Ben
  14. Rockin’ Robin
  15. Got to Be There
  16. You’ve Got a Friend
  17. Ain’t No Sunshine
  18. I Wanna Be Where You Are
  19. Introduction by Jermaine
  20. That’s How Love Goes
  21. Never Can Say Goodbye
  22. Walk On
  23. The Love You Save
  24. I Wanna Be Where You Are

All tracks previously unreleased except Disc 2 Track 24, from Save the Children: Original Motion Picture Soundtrack – Motown M 800, 1974

Disc 1 Tracks 1-13 recorded live at The Forum, Inglewood, CA – 6/20/1970
Disc 1 Track 14 recorded live at The Market Square Arena, Indianapolis – 5/29/1971
Disc 2 Tracks 1-23 recorded live at The Forum, Inglewood, CA – 8/26/1972
Disc 2 Track 24 recorded live at The Black Push Expo, Chicago – September 1972

Written by Mike Duquette

May 13, 2010 at 09:34

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: