The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

Reissue Theory: Wang Chung, “Mosaic”

leave a comment »

So…um, Wang Chung is reuniting. There aren’t really that many ways to set such a thing up. Sure, there’s this enthusiastic press release, detailing a new record and a tour – but other than that, there’s not much to say, I suppose.

Granted, that’s probably because Wang Chung (comprised of non-Asians Nick Feldman and Jack Hues) are seen by many as a one-hit wonder for inescapable party anthem “Everybody Have Fun Tonight” – a song that arguably hasn’t aged all that well (the departed Blender magazine placed it at No. 3 on the infamous 2004 list of the most awesomely bad songs ever).

There’s a lot to dispute over that status, as there were a few other Top 20 hits (the catchy, less-dated “Dance Hall Days” and the Top 10 “Let’s Go!”), but there was a fair amount of other, rather intriguing work the duo did as a New Wave band. Their debut (which featured “Dance Hall Days”) was a strong, atmospheric synth-pop affair produced by Chris Hughes and Ross Cullum (who’d produced Tears for Fears’ debut LP The Hurting in 1983; Hughes would also produce their breakthrough Songs from the Big Chair in 1985). Their second record was actually the score from To Live and Die in L.A., a neo-noir film from William Friedkin, which gives them a sort of artistic cred that, say, Duran Duran never quite grasped at such a stage in their careers.

While their third and pentultimate record Mosaic – the biggest seller, going gold thanks to “Fun Tonight” – may not have been their strongest effort, its popularity would make it a worthy pick for some sort of expansion and reissue, especially as the Wang Chung flame burns yet again. This Reissue Theory look at that record just might make fans you-know-what you-know-when, after the jump.

Wang Chung, Mosaic (Geffen GHS 24115, 1986)

  1. Everybody Have Fun Tonight
  2. Hypnotize Me
  3. The Flat Horizon
  4. Betrayal
  5. Let’s Go
  6. Eyes of the Girl
  7. A Fool and His Money
  8. The World in Which We Live
  9. Fun Tonight: The Early Years (demo of/7″ B-side to “Everybody Have Fun Tonight” – Geffen 7-28562, 1986)
  10. Everybody Have Fun Tonight (12 Inches of Fun) (12″ A-side – Geffen 0-20551, 1986)
  11. Let’s Go! (Shep’s Mix) (12″ A-side – Geffen 0-20602, 1986)
  12. Hypnotize Me (Insomnia Mix) (12″ A-side – Geffen 0-20661, 1987)
  13. Everybody Dub Tonight (12″ B-side – Geffen 0-20551, 1986)
  14. Let’s Dub (12″ B-side – Geffen 0-20602, 1986)
  15. Hypnotize Me (Innerspace Mix) (12″ B-side – Geffen 0-20661, 1987)

Written by Mike Duquette

May 14, 2010 at 14:54

Posted in Features, Reissues, Wang Chung

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: