The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

Weekend Release Round-Up: SRV, Jayhawks, Sum 41 and More

with one comment

This was a busy week for catalogue fans, what with the Elvis revelation from the other day and reactions to the new Exile on Main St. sets. Here, to close out the week, are a few announcements that fell through the cracks.

  • The long-planned Legacy Edition of Stevie Ray Vaughan and Double Trouble’s 1985 sophomore LP Couldn’t Stand the Weather now has a release date: July 27. The set will feature bonus tracks from the original recording sessions and a previously-unreleased live show on Disc 2. (No word on the tracks themselves, or if there are any repeats from the 1999 remaster. Also, Amazon’s got a June 22 listing for a deluxe reissue of the SRV/Albert King live collaboration In Session, originally released on the Stax label. Looks like it comes with a DVD of the performance.)
  • Legacy’s also announced some reissues for alt-country band The Jayhawks, hot off last year’s hits-and-rarities compilation Music from the North Country. Hollywood Town Hall, their 1992 LP (and first on Rick Rubin’s American Recordings label), will see a reissue expanded by five tracks, while 1995’s Tomorrow the Green Grass, one of their most successful records, will be expanded in a Legacy Edition that includes 24 bonus cuts, largely comprised of the fabled “Mystery Demos” the band recorded at the time. Both titles are due August 24.
  • Punk-pop band Sum 41 will see their debut LP, All Killer No Filler, get a 10th anniversary reissue from Island Records and UMe on August 3. Amazon has a pre-order link, but that’s the extent of it for now.
  • Finally, Hip-o Select has announced a limited reissue of two Verve LPs from soul organist Jimmy Smith. Respect (1967) and Livin’ It Up (1968) are getting their premiere release on CD with a bonus track, non-LP single “Mickey Mouse.” That track list can be found after the jump.

Jimmy Smith, Respect/Livin’ It Up (Verve/Hip-o Select)

  1. Mercy, Mercy, Mercy
  2. Respect
  3. Funky Broadway
  4. T-Bone Steak
  5. Get Out of My Life
  6. Mickey Mouse
  7. Mission Impossible
  8. Refractions
  9. The Gentle Rain
  10. Burning Spear
  11. Go Away Little Girl
  12. Livin’ It Up
  13. This Nearly Was Mine
  14. Big Boss Man
  15. Valley of the Dolls

Tracks 1-5 released as Respect LP – Verve V6-87o5, 1967
Track 6 released as non-LP single – Verve VK-10561, 1967
Tracks 7-15 released as
Livin’ It Up LP – Verve V6-8750, 1968

Written by Mike Duquette

May 22, 2010 at 13:48

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] a comment » We may have only fleetingly mentioned these before, but Legacy has prepped expanded reissues of Hollywood Town Hall and Tomorrow the […]

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: