The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

Put Him Back In, Coach

with 3 comments

It’s been known for awhile that John Fogerty’s 1985 album Centerfield was slated for a reissue by the folks at Geffen and UMe. Now, the bonus tracks are known.

According to both the press release and this story from Billboard, Fogerty – who, in a perfect stroke of timing and publicity, is being honored in July by the Baseball Hall of Fame for the album’s iconic title track – will include two B-sides released during the Eye of the Zombie era, “My Toot Toot” and “I Confess,” in addition to the original nine-track album. (Sorry guys, it doesn’t look like “Zanz Kant Danz,” Fogerty’s famous slight against Saul Zaentz – formerly of Fantasy Records and a legal foil for Fogerty during his CCR days – is making the cut.)

View the full track list for the reissue – available June 29 – after the jump.

John Fogerty, Centerfield: 25th Anniversary Edition (Geffen/UMe – originally released as Warner Bros. 25203-1, 1985)

  1. The Old Man Down the Road
  2. Rock and Roll Girls
  3. Big Train (from Memphis)
  4. I Saw It on T.V.
  5. Mr. Greed
  6. Searchlight
  7. Centerfield
  8. I Can’t Help Myself
  9. Vanz Kant Danz
  10. My Toot Toot (7″ B-side to “Change in the Weather” – Warner Bros. 7-28535, 1986)
  11. I Confess (7″ B-side to “Eye of the Zombie” – Warner Bros. 7-28657, 1986)

Written by Mike Duquette

May 25, 2010 at 15:10

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Meh, fine album but I do’t feel the need to buy this reissue. If they could’ve gotten “Zanz Can’t Dance” on there I’d have bought it.

    The issue that really needs reissuing, however, is Fogerty’s first solo album — The one simply called “John Fogerty” and has the classic tracks “Almost Saturday Night” and “Rockin’ All Over the World” on it.

    WHY has this album been out of print for ages?? Whenever there’s been a complilation of solo Fogerty it’s always a live version of “Saturday” and “Rockin'” gets left off. The first Blue Ridge Rangers album has (rightly) been reissued, but not Fogerty’s self-titled album. A shame.


    May 29, 2010 at 10:56

  2. I bet it involves some legal issues.


    May 29, 2010 at 21:57

  3. You’re probably right about that, Ranasakawa… Just seems crazy that you can get all of the rest of the Fogerty’s stuff, and it’s all great stuff, but not that one.


    May 31, 2010 at 10:56

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: