The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

Reissue Theory: Tears for Fears, “Elemental”

with 2 comments

One of the hardest parts of being a reissue fan is waiting. Sometimes a project will get announced, then delayed or cancelled outright. Those long gaps between reissues can be irksome, particularly when the delay time fails to lead to any improvement or innovation in the packaging and presentation of a catalogue title.

Other times, though, the reason behind the lack of a reissue is simply that nobody thinks to re-release it. Take, for instance, one of the better bands of the 1980s – Tears for Fears. About a decade ago, Mercury treated the three classic TFF LPs (those fronted by both founding members, Roland Orzabal and Curt Smith) to a digital remaster with a host of bonus tracks. Three other studio albums rest in the band’s discography: Elemental (1993) and Raoul and the Kings of Spain (1995) were the two TFF albums with only Orzabal at the helm, and latest effort Everybody Loves a Happy Ending (2004) reunited the duo to a receptive audience.

Happy Ending, due to its relative newness, probably won’t be due for a reissue anytime soon, but Raoul got a nice reissue last year from the Cherry Pop label – a reissue that did a good job of reintroducing perhaps the oddest album in the band’s catalogue. That just leaves Elemental as the only TFF LP having never received a reissue of any kind.

It’s a darn solid album – bolstered by some upbeat rockers like “Break It Down Again” and “Cold” – and like all TFF records, it had its fair share of B-side material that would complement a new reissue for sure. Perhaps someday, Cherry Pop (or someone else) will give Elemental the revisiting it deserves; until then, have a look at The Second Disc’s Reissue Theory treatment of the album after the jump.Tears for Fears, Elemental (originally released as Mercury 514 875-2 (U.K.), 1993)

Disc 1: Original LP

  1. Elemental
  2. Cold
  3. Break It Down Again
  4. Mr. Pessimist
  5. Dog’s a Best Friend’s Dog
  6. Fish Out of Water
  7. Gas Giants
  8. Power
  9. Brian Wilson Said
  10. Goodnight Song

Disc 2: B-sides and Rarities

  1. Laid So Low (Tears Roll Down) (from Tears Roll Down: Greatest Hits 82-92 compilation – Fontana 510 939-2, 1992) – 4:45
  2. Lord of Karma (12″ B-side to “Laid So Low (Tears Roll Down)” – Fontana IDEA 1712, 1992) – 4:45
  3. The Body Wah (7″ B-side to “Laid So Low (Tears Roll Down)” – Fontana IDEA 17, 1992) – 5:18
  4. Ghost Papa (12″ B-side to “Woman in Chains” reissue – Fontana IDEA 1612, 1992) – 4:01
  5. Bloodletting Go (B-side to “Break It Down Again” CD single – Mercury IDECD 18, 1993) – 4:31
  6. Schrodinger’s Cat (B-side to “Break It Down Again” CD single – Mercury IDECD 18, 1993) – 5:03
  7. New Star (B-side to “Cold” CD single – Mercury IDECD 19, 1993) – 4:29
  8. Deja-Vu and the Sins of Science (B-side to “Cold” CD single – Mercury IDECD19, 1993) – 6:23
  9. Elemental (Sons of August Mix) (B-side to “Goodnight Song” French CD single – Mercury 862 976-2, 1993) – 5:25

Written by Mike Duquette

June 1, 2010 at 13:48

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’d definitely like to see this album reissued. However, first I’d like to see “The Seeds of Love” get the deluxe 2CD treatment. The making of this album was legendary, it was a big seller at first although it didn’t have the longevity of Songs from the Big Chair, and there is a wealth of bonus material that could be added to Disc 2. In fact I speculated on this in a post right here back on March 3:

    1. Sowing the Seeds of Love (7″ version)
    2. Woman in Chains (7″ version)
    3. Famous Last Words (Single Edit or French Radio Edit)[these first three tracks wouldn’t be essential as they’re just radio edits]
    4. Advice for the Young at Heart (Single Mix)
    5. Tears Roll Down
    6. My Life in the Suicide Ranks
    7. Always in the Past
    8. Woman in Chains (Instrumental)
    9. Ghost Papa
    10. Woman in Chains (Jakkatta Awakened Mix)
    11. Music for Tables
    12. Johnny Panic and the Bible of Dreams
    13. Johnny Panic (Instrumental)
    14. Year of the Knife (Canadian Single Remix)
    15. Johnny Panic (Shock Mix)
    16. Johnny Panic (Unstable Mix)
    17. The Body Wah (from the Best of era)
    18. Lord of Karma (from the Best of era)
    19. Laid So Low (Tears Roll Down) (Best of)


    June 1, 2010 at 16:21

  2. Elemental reissued would also need:

    Break It Down Again (karaoke version) (B-side to “Break It Down Again” CD single – Mercury IDECD 18, 1993) – 4:31
    Dog’s a Best Friend’s Dog (live at Wembley) (B-side to “Elemental” US CD single – 858 499-2, 1994) – 3:48
    Elemental (live at Wembley) (B-side to “Elemental” US CD single – 858 499-2, 1994) – 5:33

    And while we’re at it… The Hurting, Songs from the Big Chair and Sowing the Seeds of Love would need much much more than the bonus tracks available with the 1999 remasters.

    Even with the Deluxe Edition, Songs from the Big Chair still misses the instrumental version of Everybody Wants… and the extended versions of Mothers Talk, Shout and Everybody Wants…

    And Raoul misses the live version of Creep!

    And what about Curt’s b-sides?


    February 17, 2011 at 10:47

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: