The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

Like Father, Like Son

leave a comment »

Humorously enough, just as word spreads that a large Bob Dylan box set might be in the works, Interscope preps a catalogue compilation devoted to Mr. Zimmerman’s son Jakob and his band The Wallflowers. Looking Through You – Another Collection will compile some of The Wallflowers’ best-known odds and ends from singles, soundtracks and other compilations.

The Wallflowers were a popular band in the late ’90s alt-rock scene for a number of reasons. Yes, Jakob was the son of musical royalty, but his ensemble didn’t owe too much of their style – or their success – to him. Dylan’s songwriting chops were well-honed, as evidenced by early singles “One Headlight” and “6th Avenue Heartache,” and that’s been good enough for audiences to this day. While the status of The Wallflowers is more or less in stasis (Dylan recently released his second solo LP and the band’s last record was in 2005), Interscope has been keeping the flame alive, first with last year’s hits disc Collected 1996-2005 and now this rarities disc.

Look for Looking Through You on June 29. Pre-order it here and check the track list after the jump.The Wallflowers, Looking Through You: Another Collection (Interscope)

  1. Heroes – 3:56
  2. I’m Looking Through You – 2:39
  3. The Beautiful Side of Somewhere (Acoustic with Strings) – 3:59
  4. Lawyers, Guns and Money – 3:14
  5. Just One Breath Away – 4:16
  6. I Started a Joke – 3:08
  7. Into the Mystic – 3:40
  8. Nothing to See Here
  9. 6th Avenue Heartache (Acoustic) – 4:57
  10. Sleepwalker (Andy Wallace Remix) – 3:25
  11. (What’s So Funny ‘Bout) Peace, Love and Understanding (Acoustic)
  12. One Headlight (U.S. Radio Edit) – 4:38

Track 1 from Godzilla: The Album (Epic EK 69338, 1998)
Track 2 from I Am Sam: Music from and Inspired by the Motion Picture (V2 63881 27119 2, 2001)
Track 3 from “The Beautiful Side of Somewhere” digital single (Interscope, 2005)
Track 4 from Enjoy Every Sandwich: The Songs of Warren Zevon (Artemis 51581, 2004)
Track 5 from European release of Rebel, Sweetheart (Interscope 9882280, 2005)
Track 6 from Zoolander: Music from the Motion Picture (Hollywood 2061-62324-2, 2001)
Track 7 from American Wedding: Music from the Motion Picture (Universal B0000774-02, 2003)
Track 8 from Japanese release of Rebel, Sweetheart (Interscope UICS-1097, 2005)
Tracks 9 and 12 from “One Headlight” CD single (Interscope IND 95532, 1997)
Track 10 from two-disc edition of (Breach) (Interscope 069 490 809 2, 2000)
Track 11 from some pressings of Red Letter Days (Interscope, 2002)

Written by Mike Duquette

June 14, 2010 at 08:45

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: