The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

More Boz Scaggs Reissues That We Apparently Missed

leave a comment »

There are a few more Boz Scaggs reissues coming from Friday Music this month. The label had four CD reissues of Boz Scaggs titles listed on their Web site, and your humble catalogue correspondent had wrongfully assumed that the top two listings were much more recent than the bottom two. So there is more to report on than the two mentioned last week.

These titles sit back-to-back in Scaggs’ discography, placed right after the singer/songwriter/guitarist’s first album on Columbia Records, Moments (1971). There’s Boz Scaggs & Band, a soulful outing produced by Glyn Johns and featuring Scaggs with his road-tested live backing band. It’s followed by My Time (1972), a rocking crossover record bolstered by the radio hit “Dinah Flo.” Both sets have been expanded with new-to-CD single mixes and live bonus tracks.

You can order each set (including the previously-reported expansions of Moments and Other Roads (1988)) here and hit the jump for the track info.

Boz Scaggs, Boz Scaggs & Band (Friday Music, 2010)

  1. Monkey Time
  2. Runnin’ Blue
  3. Up to You
  4. Love Anyway
  5. Flames of Love
  6. Here to Stay
  7. Nothing Will Take Your Place
  8. Why Why
  9. You’re So Good
  10. Runnin’ Blue (Mono 45 Version)
  11. Baby’s Callin’ Me Home (Live at the Fillmore West – 1972)

Tracks 1-9 released as Columbia LP C 30796, 1971
Track 10 released as Columbia single 4-45408, 1971
Track 11 is a previously unreleased live version

Boz Scaggs, My Time (Friday Music, 2010)

  1. Dinah Flo
  2. Slowly In The West
  3. Full-Lock Power Slide
  4. Old Time Lovin’
  5. Might Have To Cry
  6. Hello My Lover
  7. Freedom for the Stallion
  8. He’s a Fool for You
  9. We’re Gonna Roll
  10. My Time
  11. Dinah Flo (Mono 45 Version)
  12. Freedom for the Stallion (Playback EP Mix Series)
  13. Full-Lock Power Slide (Playback EP Mix Series)

Tracks 1-10 released as Columbia LP KC 31384, 1972
Track 11 released as Columbia single 4-45670, 1972
Tracks 12-13 released as Columbia EP – exact catalogue number undetermined, 1972

Written by Mike Duquette

August 11, 2010 at 11:16

Posted in Boz Scaggs, News, Reissues

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: