The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

September 20 Will Be a Manic Monday: 2 Bangles Titles Reissued and Expanded in the UK

with 3 comments

Emerging in the early 1980s with a sound equal parts garage rock, power pop and 1960s folk rock a la the Byrds, the Bangles quickly took their place as one of the most successful girl groups of all time. The band consisting of Susanna Hoffs, Vicki Peterson, Debbi Peterson and Michael Steele made their major-label debut on the Columbia label with 1984’s All Over the Place.  While not a major success, the album made enough of a splash to attract some big fans, namely 1980s icons Cyndi Lauper, Huey Lewis and Prince. The Bangles were invited to open on a major tour for Huey Lewis and the News, then for Lauper; shortly thereafter, Prince offered them his song “Manic Monday” and the rest is eighties pop history. On September 20, Cherry Red’s Cherry Pop division will reissue the first two Bangles LPs in expanded editions, with All Over the Place‘s 1986 follow-up, Different Light, getting the full 2-CD treatment. Hit the jump for full details!

All Over the Place (Columbia 39220) was produced by David Kahne, and spawned two singles: “Hero Takes a Fall” (penned by Hoffs and Vicki Peterson) and “Going Down to Liverpool,” written by Kimberly Rew and previously recorded by Rew’s band, Katrina and the Waves. “Liverpool” received some of attention largely due to a video featuring Leonard Nimoy, and actually won the young band Britain’s prestigious BPI Award. “Hero” was described by its co-writer Hoffs as influenced by the Beau Brummels’ “Laugh, Laugh,” Bob Dylan’s “Positively 4th Street” and the Grass Roots’ “Where Were You When I Needed You?” As a fitting tribute, hat P.F. Sloan/Steve Barri classic was actually covered by the band as the B-side to “Hero” and is included as the bonus track on Cherry Pop’s new CD. The sixties vibe was further felt by the cover of the Merry-Go-Round’s “Live,” sung by Debbi Peterson and written by cult pop hero Emmit Rhodes. The single mix of “Hero” was included as a bonus track on Wounded Bird’s 2008 reissue (Wounded Bird 9220) of this album; it is not present on the Cherry Pop edition but can still be found on Greatest Hits (Columbia 46125), along with “Where Were You When I Needed You?”

Different Light (Columbia 40039) showed the band in just that; largely gone was the 1960s-style jangle and in its place was a slick, then-current sound which proved quite attractive to radio. The success of Different Light, of course, skyrocketed the Bangles to fame. Anchored by the keyboard-driven “Manic Monday” (No. 2 pop) written by Prince under the nom de plume Christopher, as well as the drum machine-dominated “Walk Like an Egyptian” (No. 1 pop), Different Light peaked at No. 2 on the Billboard album charts. Kahne was still behind the producer’s console, and brought Rusty Anderson and Mitchell Froom along to contribute musically. A cover version was again part of the formula as the band tackled Big Star’s “September Gurls” to great effect. The 12” dance mix of “Walk Like an Egyptian” was featured on Wounded Bird’s 2008 reissue (Wounded Bird 4039). Cherry Pop expands its edition of Different Light with a second disc of eight B-sides and remixes. While not collecting the complete remixes, a number of them are making their CD debuts. You can compare Cherry Pop’s selections with The Second Disc’s Mike Duquette’s choices in this Reissue Theory column from February.

The Bangles would complete a third LP, Everything, in 1988, spawning “Eternal Flame,” and then break up shortly thereafter.  The group has sporadically reformed with a slightly different lineup (marked by Steele’s 2005 departure) since 1999, and in 2003 released a new album, Doll Revolution, titled after the Elvis Costello song. The Bangles are reportedly at work on a new album, but until then, Cherry Red’s deluxe editions of their first two albums should tide fans over. Both discs can be pre-ordered from Cherry Pop here.

Bangles, All Over the Place (Columbia 39220, 1984, reissued as Cherry Pop CRPOP65, 2010)

  1. Hero Takes a Fall
  2. Live
  3. James
  4. All About You
  5. Dover Beach
  6. Tell Me
  7. Restless
  8. Going Down to Liverpool
  9. He’s Got a Secret
  10. Silent Treatment
  11. More Than Meets the Eye
  12. Where Were You When I Needed You? (Columbia 38-04479-B, 1984)

Bangles, Different Light (Columbia 40039, 1986, reissued as Cherry Pop CRPOPD66, 2010)

Disc 1

  1. Manic Monday
  2. In a Different Light
  3. Walking Down Your Street
  4. Walk Like an Egyptian
  5. Standing in Your Hallway
  6. Return Post
  7. If She Knew What She Wants
  8. Let It Go
  9. September Gurls
  10. Angels Don’t Fall in Love
  11. Following
  12. Not Like You

Disc 2

  1. Manic Monday (Extended)
  2. Hero Takes a Fall (Remix)
  3. Walking Down Your Street/James (Live Medley)
  4. Walk Like an Egyptian (Dub Version)
  5. Walking Down Your Street (Remix)
  6. If She Knew What She Wants
  7. Walk Like an Egyptian (a cappella)
  8. Bangles Hit Medley Mix

Disc 2, Track 1 from CBS-A-136796 single
Disc 2, Track 2 from CBS-A-6061 single
Disc 2, Track 3 from CBS-TA-7255 12” single
Disc 2, Tracks 4 & 7 from CBS 650071-6 12” single
Disc 2, Track 5 from CBS BANGS T1 single
Disc 2, Track 6 unknown at present, possibly CBS TA-7062 12” single
Disc 2, Track 8 from Eternal Flame: Best of the Bangles (Columbia 504169 9, 2001, Europe)

Written by Joe Marchese

August 24, 2010 at 18:00

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Cool, I wonder if these will make it to the US. It is kind of strange that Everything isn’t going to be reissued, it had the big hit “Eternal Flame”, so I am sure there are those who would buy it (me), but I am happy with these first two.


    August 24, 2010 at 20:35

    • Luckily, Cherry Red’s releases are usually easy to find and fairly inexpensive in the US; Amazon already has listings for both up. And ordering from Amazon UK, with the exchange rate more favorable of late, is a good option, too. I wouldn’t be surprised if Everything turns up from Cherry Pop sooner or later to complete the Columbia collection!

      Joe Marchese

      August 25, 2010 at 22:43

  2. Mike

    August 24, 2010 at 21:10

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: