The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

Funky Town Grooves Digs Up Treasure from Brick, Full Force and More

with 4 comments

Here’s a look at the upcoming slate from the R&B reissuers at Funky Town Grooves.

September 30 will see three new titles added to the label’s discography. First, there’s a two-fer from jazz-funk hitmakers Brick, best known for 1976’s “Dazz,” a U.S. Top 5 hit. This set will put the band’s last two albums for Bang Records – Summer Heat (1981), which included the band’s last big hit, the Top 10 R&B single “Sweat (Till You Get Wet),” and After 5 (1982) – onto one remastered CD.

Next up, we have the sophomore record from legendary producers Full Force. The brothers and cousins that made up Full Force already made a name for themselves as producers for Lisa Lisa & Cult Jam (“I Wonder if I Take You Home”) and UTFO (“Roxanne, Roxanne”) and had released one self-titled album on Columbia Records in 1984 (also recently reissued from FTG). But it was Full Force Get Busy 1 Time in 1986 that brought the group substantial R&B airplay with tracks like “Temporary Love Thing” and “Unfaithful.” This new edition adds five bonus tracks and will be a must-have for the beat lovers in your life.

The last September release is the final LP by Platinum Hook, an underrated group who’d toiled for Motown in the late ’70s before releasing this last album, Watching You (1983), for RCA. The guest personnel on this album is pretty solid, including production work from Reggie Andrews (The Dazz Band’s “Let It Whip”) and Leon “Ndugu” Chancler (the man who gave “Billie Jean” its iconic drum line) plus contributions from Paulinho DaCosta and Fred Wesley.

On October 22 and 29, FTG will release four forgotten R&B LPs, one of which will be expanded. The first date sees reissues of the sole albums by Forecast, an R&B band on RCA in 1982, and Centerfold, an act from 1988 produced by Monte Moir of The Time. The following week will see a reissue of Welcome Back, the 1981 album by Philly soul providers Blue Magic, and an expanded reissue of Skyy’s From the Left Side (1986) for Capitol, featuring the Top 10 R&B song “Givin’ It to You” and five bonus tracks.

Check all the track lists after the jump.

Brick, Summer Heat/After 5 (Funky Town Grooves HTS-006, 2010)

  1. Sweat (Till You Get Wet)
  2. I Want You to Know (That I’m in Love with You)
  3. Wide Open
  4. Sea Side Vibes
  5. Right Back (Where I Started From)
  6. Babe
  7. The Happening
  8. Summer Heat
  9. Feels Good
  10. Stick by You
  11. It’s a New Day
  12. Let It Roll
  13. Wild & Crazy
  14. Peace of Mind
  15. When You Believe
  16. Free Dancer
  17. Anymore

Tracks 1-9 released as Summer Heat (Bang, 1981)
Tracks 10-17 released as After 5 (Bang, 1982)

Full Force, Full Force Get Busy 1 Time: Expanded Edition (Funky Town Grooves FTG-220, 2010)

  1. Temporary Love Thing
  2. Unfaithful
  3. Never Had Another Lover
  4. Old Flames Never Die
  5. Child’s Play (Part 1)
  6. So Much
  7. Chain Me to the Night
  8. Body Heavenly
  9. Love Scene
  10. Child’s Play (Part 2)
  11. Temporary Bow-Legged Theatre (What Am I Gonna Do!)
  12. Only Temporary
  13. Unfaithful (Faithful Remix)
  14. Unfaithful (Doctor, No Na Na No No No!)
  15. Old Flames (My Desire, My Burning Fire)
  16. Love Scene (12″ Remix)

Tracks 1-10 from Full Force Get Busy 1 Time (Columbia, 1986)
Tracks 11-12 from “Temporary Love Thing” 12″ single (Columbia, 1986)
Tracks 13-14 from “Unfaithful So Much” 12″ single (Columbia, 1986)
Tracks 15-16 from “Old Flames Never Die” 12″ single (Columbia, 1987)

Platinum Hook, Watching You (Funky Town Grooves FTG-224, 2010 – original album released RCA, 1983)

  1. Woo
  2. I Don’t Wanna Live Without You
  3. What You Want
  4. Girl I’m Watching You
  5. Wonderful World

Centerfold, Centerfold (Funky Town Grooves FTG-213, 2010 – original album released Columbia, 1988)

  1. Party Rebels
  2. Earth Jam
  3. I Didn’t Know
  4. Bachelor Happy
  5. Admit It
  6. Shoe Shoe Shine
  7. For Your Love
  8. Head Over Heels (I Fell in Love with You)

Forecast, Forecast I (Funky Town Grooves FTG-214, 2010 – original album released RCA, 1982)

  1. I Want Your Number
  2. Too Much for My Mind
  3. Hold on Tight
  4. Never Too Much
  5. Party Up
  6. Happy Days
  7. Same Old Game
  8. You’re My One and Only
  9. Don’t Stop

Blue Magic, Welcome Back (Funky Town Grooves FTG-226, 2010 – original album released Capitol, 1981)

  1. The Oscar
  2. Feeling the Love
  3. Who Could Ever Leave You?
  4. Welcome Back
  5. Land of Make Believe
  6. Seems I Haven’t Seen Her
  7. Standin’ on the Edge of a Love Affair
  8. Let There Be Love
  9. All I Really Need is You
  10. Remember November

Skyy, From the Left Side: Expanded Edition (Funky Town Grooves FTG-225, 2010)

  1. Givin’ It (to You)
  2. Love Attack
  3. Non-Stop
  4. Song Song
  5. Big Fun
  6. Love Illogical
  7. Tell Her You Care
  8. Jealousitis
  9. Rock It
  10. Givin’ It (to You) (12″ Extended Version)
  11. Love Illogical (12″ Dance Edit)
  12. Non-Stop (12″ Remix)
  13. Givin’ It (to You) (Dub)
  14. Non-Stop (Dub)

Tracks 1-9 from From the Left Side (Capitol, 1986)
Tracks 10 and 13 from “Givin’ It (to You)” 12″ single – Capitol, 1986
Track 11 from “Love Illogical” 12″ single – Capitol, 1986
Tracks 12 and 14 from “Non-Stop” 12″ single – Capitol, 1986

Written by Mike Duquette

September 16, 2010 at 13:24

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Damn…I might have to get that Full Force CD. We lived in the same neighborhood in Brooklyn.


    September 16, 2010 at 18:28

  2. […] » Funky Town Grooves announced quite a lineup of soul classics to hit shelves this fall, as reported yesterday by The Second Disc, and we’re happy to follow up with news of the latest exciting […]

  3. Looking To See If Donald Cleveland Was A Brooklyn N.Y Native And A P.S. 289 Graduate ? If So , God Bless You Donald & Hit Me Up With An E-Mail ! Shawn Ashby

    Shawn Ashby

    January 23, 2011 at 17:06

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: