The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

The Irresistible Tammi Terrell, Compiled

leave a comment »

To the non-believers and newcomers, Tammi Terrell isn’t more than a footnote in the story of Motown. Her name sits beside Marvin Gaye’s on a few iconic singles – “Ain’t No Mountain High Enough,” “You’re All I Need to Get By” and “Ain’t Nothing Like the Real Thing,” to name three – but that’s it, right?

Wrong, says Hip-o Select’s new Terrell anthology Come On and See Me: The Complete Solo Recordings. On her own, Terrell recorded just one full long-playing record for Motown, but it was released after several years of hard work on other labels; Terrell, as Tammy Montgomery, began her career in the record industry in 1961, releasing various singles for Scepter/Wand Records, Checker and James Brown’s Try Me label before signing to Motown and creating a powerhouse trilogy of duets albums with Marvin Gaye (United in 1967, You’re All I Need in 1968 and Easy in 1969).

Now, all of this material is compiled on one two-disc set, including solo tracks that Gaye later laid vocals on for the duet albums, rare outtakes and a previously unreleased live set. It’s a fitting tribute to one of the most underrated members of the Motown pantheon (and one who was taken from us at far too young an age – Terrell died at 24 in 1970 of a brain tumor).

The set can be purchased here (it looks like Select is also providing audio samples for this one), and the track list is after the jump.

Tammi Terrell, Come On and See Me: The Complete Solo Recordings (Motown/Hip-o Select, 2010)

Disc 1

  1. If You See Bill
  2. It’s Mine
  3. Voice of Experience
  4. I Wancha’ to Be Sure
  5. Sinner’s Devotion
  6. Make the Night Just a Little Longer
  7. Big John
  8. I Cried
  9. If You Don’t Think
  10. If I Would Marry You (New Stereo Remix)
  11. This Time Tomorrow (New Stereo Remix)
  12. I’ve Got Nothing to Say But Goodbye
  13. I Can’t Hold It In Any More
  14. If I Would Marry You (Duet with Jimmy Radcliffe)
  15. I Can’t Believe You Love Me
  16. That’s What Boys Are Made For
  17. Come On and See Me
  18. What a Good Man He Is
  19. Tears at the End of a Love Affair
  20. This Old Heart of Mine (is Weak for You)
  21. He’s the One I Love
  22. Can’t Stop Now (Love is Calling)
  23. Just Too Much to Hope For
  24. Hold Me Oh My Darling
  25. I Can’t Go On Without You
  26. Baby Don’tcha Worry
  27. There Are Things

Disc 2

  1. Ain’t No Mountain High Enough
  2. All I Do is Think About You
  3. Slow Down
  4. I Gotta Find a Way (To Get You Back)
  5. Oh How I’d Miss You
  6. Lone Lonely Town
  7. You Ain’t Livin’ ’Till You’re Lovin’ (New Stereo Remix)
  8. Give In You Just Can’t Win (New Stereo Remix)
  9. When Love Comes Knocking at My Heart (New Stereo Remix)
  10. Memory Chest (New Stereo Remix)
  11. That’s How It Is (Since You’ve Been Gone) (New Stereo Remix)
  12. More, More, More (New Stereo Remix)
  13. Two Can Have a Party (New Stereo Remix)
  14. My Heart (New Stereo Remix)
  15. Don’t Let Me Be Lonely (New Stereo Remix)
  16. Kissing in the Shadows
  17. Beware of a Stranger
  18. It’s Been a Long Time Happenin’
  19. Almost Like Being in Love (Live)
  20. Stage dialogue with emcee Scott Regan (Live)
  21. I Can’t Believe You Love Me (Live)
  22. Medley: What a Difference a Day Makes/Runnin’ Out of Fools/Tell Me the Truth/Baby Love (Live)
  23. Come On and See Me (Live)

Disc 1, Tracks 1-2 from Scepter single 1224, 1961
Disc 1, Tracks 3-4 from Wand single 123, 1962
Disc 1, Tracks 5-7 from Chuck Jackson & Tammi Terrell LP The Early Show (Wand WDM-682, 1967)
Disc 1, Tracks 8-9 from Try Me single 28001, 1964
Original versions of Disc 1, Tracks 10-11 from Checker single 1072, 1964
Disc 1, Tracks 12-14 previously unreleased
Disc 1, Tracks 15-25 from
The Irresistible Tammi Terrell (Motown MS-652, 1968)
Disc 1, Track 26 was the B-side to Motown single 1095, 1966
Disc 1, Track 27 was the B-side to Motown single 1115, 1967
Disc 2, Tracks 1, 5 and original versions of 7-13 from The Complete Duets (Motown 440 016 402-2, 2001)
Disc 2, Track 2 from
A Cellarful of Motown! (Motown 544 619-2 (U.K.), 2002)
Disc 2, Tracks 3-4 from The Essential Collection (Spectrum 544 491-2 (U.K.), 2001)
Disc 2, Track 6 from Tamla Motown Connoisseurs (Motown 544 426-2, 2001)
Original versions of Disc 2, Track 14 from A Cellarful of Motown! Volume 2 (Motown 982 929-7, 2005)
Original version of Disc 2, Track 15 from A Cellarful of Motown! Volume 4 (Motown 824 009-2 (U.K.), 2010)
Disc 2, Tracks 16-23 previously unreleased

Written by Mike Duquette

September 20, 2010 at 12:21

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: