The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

Britpop Statesmen Suede to Release a Best-of Compilation

leave a comment »

After a band makes its return to the public eye, say, after a long hiatus or break-up, the best way to remind the public of what they were capable of is through a compilation of some sort. Suede, the influential Britpop band, looks to do just that with the release of The Best of Suede.

From their self-titled release in 1993, Suede were considered to be the act that got rock music back in the good graces of both British critics and the British public. With bands like Blur and Radiohead about to storm the charts, Suede became the accidental creators of a rock movement: Britpop. The band went from strength to strength for much of the next decade, putting four of their five LPs in the U.K. Top 5 (three of them were at No. 1) and amassing 19 Top 40 singles, including five Top Ten hits from their crowning achievement, 1996’s Coming Up.

Though they’ve been anthologized before – 2003’s Singles was released shortly before the band called it quits – this new, two-disc set includes singles, album cuts and B-sides for a more in-depth look at the band’s career. And the timing couldn’t be better; the band has embarked on a string of live gigs in the past year, though there’s no official word that they’ll hit the studio once more.

Hit the jump for the track list for The Best of Suede, due November 1.

Suede, The Best of Suede (Nude/Columbia, 2010)

Disc 1

  1. Animal Nitrate
  2. Beautiful Ones
  3. Trash
  4. Filmstar
  5. Metal Mickey
  6. New Generation
  7. So Young
  8. The Wild Ones
  9. The Drowners
  10. Stay Together
  11. Lazy
  12. Everything Will Flow
  13. We Are the Pigs
  14. Can’t Get Enough
  15. Electricity
  16. Obsessions
  17. She’s in Fashion
  18. Saturday Night

Disc 2

  1. Pantomime Horse
  2. My Insatiable One
  3. Killing of a Flashboy
  4. This Hollywood Life
  5. Europe is Our Playground
  6. My Dark Star
  7. Sleeping Pills
  8. By the Sea
  9. She
  10. Heroine
  11. The Living Dead
  12. To the Birds
  13. The Big Time
  14. The 2 of Us
  15. Asphalt World
  16. Still Life
  17. The Next Life

Disc 1, Tracks 1, 5, 7 and 9 and Disc 2, Tracks 1, 7 and 17 from Suede (Nude, 1993)
Disc 1, Tracks 2-4, 11 and 18 and Disc 2, Tracks 8-9 from Coming Up (Nude, 1996)
Disc 1, Tracks 6, 8 and 13 and Disc 2, Tracks 4, 10 and 14-16 from Dog Man Star (Nude, 1994)
Disc 1, Track 10 and Disc 2, Tracks 6 and 11 from non-LP single (Nude, 1994)
Disc 1, Tracks 12, 14-15 and 17 from Head Music (Nude, 1999)
Disc 1, Track 16 from A New Morning (Columbia, 2002)
Disc 2, Tracks 2 and 12 were B-sides to “The Drowners” 12″ single (Nude, 1992)
Disc 2, Track 3 was the B-side to “We Are the Pigs” 7″ single (Nude, 1994)
Disc 2, Track 5 was the B-side to “Trash” CD single (Nude, 1996)
Disc 2, Track 13 was the B-side to “Animal Nitrate” 7″ single (Nude, 1993)

Written by Mike Duquette

September 22, 2010 at 13:25

Posted in Compilations, News, Suede

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: