The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

Archive for October 8th, 2010

UB40’s “Signing Off” Celebrates 30 Years with Deluxe Reissue

leave a comment »

Another ’80s reissue from EMI – who’d have thought? This time, it’s an expansion of Signing Off, the seminal debut LP from British reggae band UB40.

Though UB40 are best known in America for their reggae-infused covers of standards like Neil Diamond’s “Red Red Wine” and Elvis Presley’s “Can’t Help Falling in Love,” their musical roots involve fusing that reggae sound to socially conscious lyrics about poverty, famine and race relations. (The band’s name in fact comes from one of the forms issued by the U.K.’s Department of Health and Social Security.) Signing Off was an example of that mentality, and while such a combination only can go so far in the States, the album reached No. 2 in the U.K. and stayed on the charts for over a year.

The band itself will tour their homeland to commemorate the 30th anniversary of the record, and EMI have given it the deluxe treatment. The three-disc set includes the original LP, a bonus disc of extras (including the bonus EP included with the original album, four non-LP 12″ single sides and live BBC sessions) and a DVD of promo videos as well as the band’s live performance as captured on the fan favorite BBC program Rock Goes to College.

Signing Off will be made available once more on October 25. Pre-order it here and check the track list after the jump. Read the rest of this entry »

Written by Mike Duquette

October 8, 2010 at 11:31

Posted in News, Reissues, UB40

More UMe Deluxe Editions En Route for Petty, Lizzy

with 2 comments

A few more deluxe editions are forthcoming from Universal Music Enterprises, and they’re jaw-droppers for a couple of different reasons.

Depending on how long you’ve been following the reissue world, you’ve actually known about both of them. One is a deluxe edition of Damn the Torpedoes, the classic album from Tom Petty and The Heartbreakers. (News of this broke not long after The Second Disc started doing what it does.) The surprising thing about this particular reissue is that it will be available in two formats: the by-now-standard Deluxe Edition, and a CD/Blu-Ray combo! (This version will include the original LP on CD with a Blu-Ray disc featuring standard stereo and 5.1 surround mixes of the album and bonus videos for “Here Comes My Girl” and “Refugee.”) For all audiophiles who are reading us (and I’m sure many of you are proud audiophiles), let’s all hope this is the start of an interesting trend in the catalogue world.

Next up is a release long-running catalogue enthusiasts thought may never come: a deluxe edition of Vagabonds of the Western World, the third LP by Irish rockers Thin Lizzy. This double-disc set, featuring a scoop of non-LP B-sides and mixes with another disc of live performances recorded by the BBC, was first announced sometime in 2007 but disappeared not long after pre-order links were actually activated. Fans will doubtlessly be crossing their fingers that the October 25 release date pulls through.

The Petty sets are available November 2, while the Thin Lizzy set should be released October 25 in the U.K.; you know where to find the track lists.

Tom Petty and The Heartbreakers, Damn the Torpedoes: Deluxe Edition (Geffen/UMe B0014739-02, 2010)

Disc 1: Original LP (originally released as Backstreet Records/MCA 5015, 1979)

  1. Refugee
  2. Here Comes My Girl
  3. Even the Losers
  4. Shadow of a Doubt (A Complex Kid)
  5. Century City
  6. Don’t Do Me Like That
  7. You Tell Me
  8. What Are You Doin’ in My Life?
  9. Louisiana Rain

Disc 2: Bonus material

  1. Nowhere *
  2. Surrender (Early Version) *
  3. Casa Dega (B-side to “Don’t Do Me Like That” – MCA 41138, 1979)
  4. It’s Raining Again (B-side to “Refugee” – MCA 41169, 1980)
  5. Shadow of a Doubt (A Complex Kid) (Live @ the Hammersmith Odeon, London – 3/61980) *
  6. Don’t Do Me Like That (Live @ the Hammersmith Odeon, London – 3/6/1980) *
  7. Something Else (Live @ the Hammersmith Odeon, London – 1980) (B-side to U.K. double 7″ of “Don’t Do Me Like That” – MCA 596, 1979)
  8. Casa Dega (Demo) *
  9. Refugee (Alternate Rhythm Track) *

* denotes previously unreleased track. Tracks 3-4 and 7 also released on Playback box set (MCA, 1996). Track 2 re-recorded and released on Anthology: Through the Years (MCA, 2000).

Thin Lizzy, Vagabonds of the Western World: Deluxe Edition (Decca/UMe (U.K.), 2010)

Disc 1: Original LP and bonus material

  1. Mama Nature Said
  2. The Hero and the Madman
  3. Slow Blues
  4. The Rocker
  5. Vagabonds of the Western World
  6. Little Girl in Bloom
  7. Gonna Creep Up on You
  8. A Song for While I’m Away
  9. Randolph’s Tango
  10. Broken Dream
  11. The Rocker (Single Version)
  12. Here I Go Again
  13. Cruising in the Lizzymobile
  14. Little Darling
  15. Sitamoia
  16. Slow Blues (Overdubbed and Remixed Version)
  17. Randolph’s Tango (Radio Promo Edit)
  18. Whiskey in the Jar (Promotional Edit)

Disc 2: Live bonus material

  1. The Rocker (BBC Radio One in Concert – 7/26/1973)
  2. Things Ain’t Working Out Down at the Farm (BBC Radio One in Concert – 7/26/1973)
  3. Slow Blues (BBC Radio One in Concert – 7/26/1973)
  4. Gonna Creep Up on You (BBC Radio One in Concert – 7/26/1973)
  5. Suicide (BBC Radio One in Concert – 7/26/1973)
  6. Vagabonds of the Western World (BBC Radio One John Peel Session – 7/31/1973)
  7. Gonna Creep Up on You (BBC Radio One John Peel Session – 7/31/1973)
  8. Little Girl in Bloom (BBC Radio One Rock On Session)
  9. Sitamoia (BBC Radio One Bob Harris Session – 8/29/1973)
  10. Little Darling (BBC Radio One Bob Harris Session – 8/29/1973)
  11. Slow Blues (BBC Radio One Bob Harris Session – 8/29/1973)
  12. Showdown (BBC Radio One Bob Harris Session – 8/29/1973)
  13. Black Boys on the Corner (BBC Radio One John Peel Session – 11/17/1972)

Disc 1, Tracks 1-8 released as Decca LP SKL 5170, 1973
Disc 1, Tracks 9-10 released as Decca single F 13402, 1973
Disc 1, Tracks 11-12 released as Decca single F 13467, 1973
Disc 1, Track 13 was the B-side to “The Rocker” German single – Decca DL 25 607, 1973
Disc 1, Tracks 14-15 from Remembering Part 1 compilation (Decca SKL 5249, 1976)
Disc 1, Track 16 from The Continuing Saga of the Ageing Orphans compilation (Decca SKL 5298, 1978)
Disc 1, Tracks 17-18 from Decca promo singles, 1973
Disc 2, Track 6 released on Peel Sessions (Strange Fruit LIZCD 14, 1994)
All other tracks previously unreleased

Written by Mike Duquette

October 8, 2010 at 09:47