The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

You Can Look At the Menu…

with 4 comments

As previously speculated and promised, synth-pop stalwart Howard Jones is set to reissue his first two LPs on CD, digitally remastered for the first time. But fans have to wait a bit, or travel a great distance, for bonus material.

These versions of Human’s Lib (1983) and Dream Into Action (1985), the records that spun off hits like “What is Love?”, “New Song,” “Things Can Only Get Better” and “No One is to Blame,” will be released through Jones’ own Dtox label. They retain their original track listings as seen on CD (thus, bearing a few more tracks apiece than the original LPs did) and new cover art, but feature no other B-sides or 12″ remixes. However, a limited edition box set will pair these albums with a third disc of previously unreleased vintage live material. That box, limited to 1,000 copies, will be sold alongside the new remasters at Jones’ November 6 concert at the IndigO2 in London, where he will play both albums in their entirety. They will be available in Dtox Records’ online store two days later.

While some may bemoan the lack of extra material, the post on Jones’ Web site states that Dtox plans to release a remix compilation in 2011, along with reissues of the remainder of Jones’ Warner-era material. Let’s hope these plans materialize. Until then, have a look at the material after the jump.

Howard Jones, Human’s Lib (Dtox CD21, 2010 – originally released as WEA WX1 (U.K.)/Elektra 60346-1 (U.S.), 1983)

  1. Conditioning
  2. What is Love?
  3. Pearl in the Shell
  4. Hide and Seek
  5. Hunt the Self
  6. New Song
  7. Don’t Always Look at the Rain
  8. Equality
  9. Natural
  10. Human’s Lib
  11. China Dance

Note: “China Dance” was a bonus track on some CD editions. It originally appeared as the 12″ B-side to “Hide and Seek” (WEA HOW3T, 1984)

Howard Jones, Dream Into Action (Dtox CD22, 2010 – originally released as WEA WX15 (U.K.)/Elektra 60390-1 (U.S.), 1985)

  1. Things Can Only Get Better
  2. Life in One Day
  3. Dream Into Action
  4. No One is to Blame
  5. Look Mama
  6. Assault and Battery
  7. Automaton
  8. Is There a Difference?
  9. Elegy
  10. Hunger for the Flesh
  11. Specialty
  12. Why Look for the Key?
  13. Bounce Right Back
  14. Like to Get to Know You Well

Note: this track list is the same as the original CD pressing. Vinyl pressings had 12 tracks in different order, without “Specialty” (from Action Replay U.S. EP – Elektra 9 60466-1-Y, 1986) or “Why Look for the Key” (B-side to “Things Can Only Get Better” – WEA HOW 6, 1985).

Howard Jones, Risk: Specially Selected Live Tracks (Dtox CD23, 2010)

  1. Automaton (Live from The Oxford Road Show in Manchester)
  2. Pearl in the Shell (Live from The Oxford Road Show in Manchester)
  3. Look Mama (Live from The Oxford Road Show in Manchester)
  4. Hunger for the Flesh (Live from The Oxford Road Show in Manchester)
  5. Hunt the Self (Live from The Oxford Road Show in Manchester)
  6. New Song (Live from The Oxford Road Show in Manchester)
  7. Don’t Always Look At the Rain (Live from High Wycombe)
  8. What Can I Say? (Live from The Marquee Club London)

Written by Mike Duquette

October 11, 2010 at 12:30

Posted in Howard Jones, News, Reissues

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Boo. I was afraid these wouldn’t have bonus tracks based on the original press blurb, and that is indeed the case. Dream Into Action should have all the stuff from the 12″ers Volume 2 and Action Replay EPs. We don’t even get the Phil Collins remix of “No One is to Blame.”


    October 11, 2010 at 15:40

  2. There’s a live acoustic version of Jones performing “No One Is To Blame” that is fantastic and is on a comp called ’80s Hits Stripped. They probably don’t have the licensing to pick up that track, though.

    Eric Luecking

    October 12, 2010 at 09:25

  3. “Vinyl pressings had 12 tracks in different order, without “Specialty” (from Action Replay U.S. EP – Elektra 9 60466-1-Y, 1986) or “Why Look for the Key” (B-side to “Things Can Only Get Better” – WEA HOW 6, 1985).”


    Both tracks were from the original vinyl album. However, both were removed for the US/CA vinyl releases. Despite what many people think, North America is not the centre of the world.


    October 12, 2010 at 21:12

  4. […] bleaker months of winter. We can even expect offerings from Ozzy Osbourne (bumped from last year), Howard Jones (in theory) and REO Speedwagon […]

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: