The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

Reissue! Repackage! Repackage! Volume #2: Shinedown Double Their “Madness”

leave a comment »

Another relatively recent reissue coming down the pipeline: alt-metal band Shinedown will reissue their most recent album, 2008’s The Sound of Madness, in a new CD/DVD package that’s actually quite heavy on bonus material.

The album, which spawned several rock hits including the surprise crossover single “Second Chance,” a Top 10 hit in the winter of 2009, will be expanded with nine bonus cuts and a DVD of music videos and live performances. The bonus tracks come from a variety of sources, including some digital singles, a previous bonus track edition released to iTunes and the band’s fan club, and a few soundtrack tunes.

If you’re a fan or are really, really curious, it’s a rather large amount of material to reward yourself (including the one-year fan club membership that comes with the set). Certainly not the kind of skimpy holiday reissues many of us are used to. It arrives in stores on November 23, and the track list is after the jump.

Shinedown, The Sound of Madness: Deluxe Edition (Atlantic 52601-2, 2010)

Disc 1: Original LP and B-sides

  1. Devour
  2. Sound of Madness
  3. Second Chance
  4. Cry for Help
  5. The Crow & the Butterfly
  6. If You Only Knew
  7. Sin with a Grin
  8. What a Shame
  9. Cyanide Sweet Tooth Suicide
  10. Breaking Inside
  11. Call Me
  12. The Energy
  13. Son of Sam
  14. I Own You
  15. Junkies for Fame
  16. Diamond Eyes (Boom-Lay Boom-Lay Boom)
  17. Second Chance (Acoustic)
  18. The Crow & the Butterfly (Pull Mix)
  19. Her Name is Alice
  20. Breaking Inside (Feat. Lzzy Hale of Halestorm)

Tracks 1-11 from original LP (Atlantic 51124, 2008)
Tracks 12-14 from iTunes Deluxe Edition
Track 15 released as digital single (Atlantic, 2008)
Track 16 released as digital single (Atlantic, 2010). Featured in the film The Expendables
Track 17 from iTunes Session EP (Atlantic, 2010)
Track 18 from digital EP (Atlantic, 2010)
Track 19 from Almost Alice (Buena Vista D0005166-02, 2010)
Track 20 previously unreleased

Disc 2: DVD

  1. Devour – Lyric Video
  2. Devour – Official Video
  3. Second Chance – Official Video
  4. The Sound of Madness – Official Video
  5. If You Only Knew – Official Video
  6. The Crow & the Butterfly – Official Video
  7. What a Shame – Official Video
  8. Save Me (Live from Atlanta)
  9. Devour (Live from Atlanta)
  10. Call Me (Live from Atlanta)
  11. Second Chance (Live from Atlanta)
  12. The Sound of Madness (Live from Atlanta)
  13. Interview from L.A.

Tracks 8-12 released on digital compilation The Sight of Madness (Atlantic, 2009)

Written by Mike Duquette

October 28, 2010 at 11:40

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: