The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

Reissue! Repackage! Repackage! Volume #3: Ke$ha’s “Cannibal” Instincts

leave a comment »

Figures: try to start a new feature and it seems to be all that happens. Yet another reissue of an incredibly recent record is coming your way this holiday season – the debut by firebrand pop star Ke$ha.

Kesha Sebert is one of those love-her-or-hate-her musicians on the scene today. Her debut album, Animal, is packed with inescapable pop hooks, thanks mostly to the production and songwriting talents of Lukasz “Dr. Luke” Gottwald, a one-time Saturday Night Live band member who’s produced hits for Kelly Clarkson (“Since U Been Gone”), Katy Perry (“California Gurls”) and Miley Cyrus (“Party in the U.S.A.”). While Luke supplies Ke$ha with the freshest beats and hooks, critics have scoffed at the singer’s rail-thin, effects-heavy voice, garbage-chic style and obnoxious party-girl image.

But with four Top 10 singles already under her belt, it’s only natural that RCA would want to get some more while the getting’s good. Thus we have Animal/Cannibal, the upcoming expansion of her debut album with a bonus EP of eight new tracks and one remix. Lead single “We R Who We R” is already poised to burn up teenage radios, so those of you with fans in your family may expect a very Ke$ha Christmas whether you like it or not.

As has been the trend in the past year, the Cannibal disc will be available for those who’ve already bought the main album. Check out the full track list after the jump.

Ke$ha, Animal + Cannibal (RCA 88697 80560-2, 2010)

Disc 1: Animal (previously released as RCA/Kemosabe 88697 49209-2, 2010)

  1. Your Love is My Drug
  2. Take It Off
  3. Tik Tok
  4. Kiss n Tell
  5. Stephen
  6. Blah Blah Blah (featuring 3OH!3)
  7. Hungover
  8. Party At a Rich Dude’s House
  9. Backstabber
  10. Blind
  11. Dinosaur
  12. Dancing with Tears in My Eyes
  13. Boots & Boys
  14. Animal

Disc 2: Cannibal (available separately as RCA/Kemosabe 88697 80559-2, 2010)

  1. Cannibal
  2. We R Who We R
  3. Sleazy
  4. Blow
  5. The Harold Song
  6. Crazy Beautiful Life
  7. Grow a Pear
  8. CUNext Tuesday
  9. Animal (Billboard Remix)

Written by Mike Duquette

October 29, 2010 at 12:27

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: