The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

Reissue! Repackage! Repackage! Volume #4: It Ain’t Heavy, It’s Our “Brothers”

leave a comment »

Another neat recent reissue for your perusal: a deluxe box set version of Brothers, the latest release by garage-blues band The Black Keys.

The Akron, Ohio duo – comprised of vocalist/guitarist Dan Auerbach and drummer Patrick Carney – have been on the rise since the early 2000s. Their simple, raw sound and simple sense of marketability (their tunes have featured in dozens of films and advertisements) have won them over a great amount of fans, from ZZ Top to Danger Mouse, who produced the band’s 2008 effort Attack & Release. Brothers, released this past spring, was the band’s biggest hit to date, reaching No. 3 on the Billboard charts.

This limited, numbered reissue of the album includes the original LP on both CD and split between two 7″ vinyl discs, as well as a bonus 10″ EP of live tracks and a poster. It will be released on Black Friday, November 26, a day being commemorated by Record Store Day participants with other special releases.

The Black Keys, Brothers: Deluxe Edition (Nonesuch, 2010)

CD: Original album (released as Nonesuch 520266-2, 2010)

  1. Everlasting Light
  2. Next Girl
  3. Tighten Up
  4. Howlin’ for You
  5. Black Mud
  6. She’s Long Gone
  7. The Only One
  8. Too Afraid to Love You
  9. Ten Cent Pistol
  10. Sinister Kid
  11. The Go Getter
  12. I’m Not the One
  13. Unknown Brother
  14. Never Gonna Give You Up
  15. These Days

LPs 1 and 2: Original album (same as above)

LP 3: Live tracks

  1. Everlasting Light
  2. Next Girl
  3. Tighten Up
  4. Howlin’ for You
  5. She’s Long Gone
  6. Too Afraid to Love You

Written by Mike Duquette

November 1, 2010 at 13:21

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: