The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

Kritzerland Debuts “Carrie” Score

with one comment

It may be closer to Thanksgiving, but Kritzerland is ready to scare the daylights out of you with their latest release – the premiere of Pino Donaggio’s complete score to the horror classic Carrie.

The film, based on the first published novel by acclaimed writer Stephen King and directed by Brian De Palma, centers on a shy high school senior with a big secret: telekinetic powers. When the abuse she suffers daily, from both her classmates and her maniacally religious mother, prove to be too much, those powers take control in a most evil and violent way.

Donaggio, who had only scored one major film (Don’t Look Now) before Carrie, created a soundtrack that recalled one of De Palma’s favorite composers, Bernard Hermann, while maintaining a sense of light elegance and beauty (notably the opening title theme) in a sly counterpoint to the horror portrayed onscreen.

This new release from Kritzerland is the first time the original score as heard in the film is released; it’s augmented by a bonus disc featuring the remastered original soundtrack LP (previously released on CD by Rykodisc and Varese Sarabande). This set is very limited at 1,200 copies, so head over to Kritzerland quick to get your copy.

Check out the track list after the jump.

Pino Donaggio, Carrie: Original Motion Picture Score (Kritzerland, 2010 – original film released 1976)

Disc 1: Original Score

  1. Main Title
  2. The Principal’s Office/The Ashtray
  3. Margaret Comes Home/The Telephone Call
  4. The Closet: St. Sebastian/The Mirror/The Reflection
  5. Calisthenics
  6. The Card Catalogue/Telekinesis
  7. Carrie and Miss Collins
  8. The Slaughter/The Storm/Outside the Gym/Margaret Prays
  9. The Tuxedo Shop
  10. Waiting for Tommy/Tommy Arrives
  11. Born to Have It All (vocal by Kate Irving)
  12. I Never Dreamed Someone Like You Could Love Someone Like Me (vocal by Kate Irving)
  13. The Ballot/Carrie and Tommy/The Conspirators
  14. The Coronation/The Blood
  15. The Retribution
  16. Carrie Returns Home
  17. The Bath/Carrie and Margaret
  18. The Crucifixion
  19. The House
  20. The Dream/The Nightmare/End Titles
  21. Born to Have It All (Instrumental)
  22. I Never Dreamed Someone Like You Could Love Someone Like Me (Instrumental)

Disc 2: Original LP (originally released as United Artists LA-716-H, 1976)

  1. Theme from “Carrie”
  2. I Never Dreamed Someone Like You Could Love Someone Like Me (vocal by Kate Irving)
  3. And God Made Eve
  4. At the Prom
  5. Contest Winners
  6. Born to Have It All (vocal by Kate Irving)
  7. Bucket of Blood
  8. School in Flames
  9. Mother at the Top of the Stairs
  10. For the Last Time We’ll Pray
  11. Collapse of Carrie’s Home
  12. Sue’s Dream
  13. Theme from “Carrie”

Written by Mike Duquette

November 15, 2010 at 11:36

Posted in News, Reissues, Soundtracks

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] a successful year of landmark releases such as an expanded edition of Pino Donaggio’s score to Carrie and the remaster and remix of Promises, Promises: The Original Broadway Cast Recording, just to […]

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: