The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

“Titans,” “Flesh” Close Out Intrada’s Year in Score Reissues

leave a comment »

Intrada has announced their final four catalogue soundtrack releases to round out the year.

First up is Laurence Rosenthal’s complete score to the classic action/fantasy film Clash of the Titans (1981). This box office hit starred Harry Hamlin as the mythic hero Perseus, who ventured across ancient Greece battling classic monsters, all expertly created by stop-motion animation guru Ray Harryhausen. (The Gorgon Medusa as seen in the film still gives us the chills!) Intrada’s double-disc set greatly expands upon both the original Columbia LP and a 1997 expansion on PEG Recordings, making it your sole destination for all the music in the best stereo sound quality. Clash of the Titans is limited to 3,000 copies.

Next up is Navy SEALS, Lewis Teague’s score to the 1990 action film starring Charlie Sheen and Bill Paxton. Though some may know the film as a punchline in a scene in Clerks (1994), it’s a serviceable action score finally getting its due on CD (the original Atlantic soundtrack was all pop songs). It’s a small release, limited to 1,200 copies.

Then there’s a two-fer from the Golden Age of film scores. The Fox films On the Threshold of Space (1956) and The Hunters (1958) make their debut in any format. Lyn Murray composed the score to Threshold, an early film about astronauts, while Dean Sawtell composed The Hunters, a military action flick with Robert Mitchum. As a bonus, the disc also includes the music heard in the trailer for The Hunters. This set tops out at 1,000 copies.

Finally, we have the score to Flesh + Blood, a 1985 adventure about mercenaries in 16th century Europe. Basil Poledouris wrote this score for director Paul Verhoeven (the duo would join forces two years later for Robocop, also reissued by Intrada this year), and the composer considered it to be one of his favorites. Intrada had access to the original 24-track session masters, enabling a complete remix from the original film version (something Poledouris had always wanted to do); they also had access to Poledouris and engineer Eric Tomlinson’s original notes on editing, take selection and mixing, allowing this presentation to present the complete score as it was meant to be heard. This set is limited to 2,000 copies, so act fast.

Full track lists are after the jump.

Laurence Rosenthal, Clash of the Titans: Original Motion Picture Soundtrack (Intrada Special Collection Vol. 150, 2010 – original film released 1981)

Disc 1

  1. Prologue and Main Title
  2. Olympus (Chorus)
  3. Argos is Doomed
  4. Argos Destroyed
  5. Boyhood of Perseus
  6. Zeus’s Judgment (Chorus)
  7. Transformation of Calibos
  8. Dreams and Omens
  9. Zeus Commands the Gifts (Chorus)
  10. Magic Weapons
  11. Fulfill Your Destiny (Chorus)
  12. Invisible/Joppa
  13. Andromeda
  14. Pegasus/To the Marsh
  15. The Lord of the Marsh
  16. The Fight in the Swamp/Fanfare
  17. Curse Ended/The Dancing Girl
  18. Justice or Revenge/The Lovers

Disc 2

  1. The Head of Thetis/Pegasus in the Net
  2. “We Follow the North Star”
  3. “It Is My Wish” (Chorus)
  4. Bubo Arrives/The Quest
  5. The Farewell
  6. The River Styx
  7. Medusa Temple/Two Headed Dog
  8. Medusa
  9. The Magic Sword
  10. Bubo the Dive-Bomber
  11. Andromeda Shackled
  12. The Kraken
  13. Clash of the Titans/Andromeda Rescued
  14. The Constellations – End Title
  15. Prologue and Main Title (LP Version)
  16. Zeus’s Judgment (Chorus) (Unused Alternate Version) 0:17
  17. No Mercy (Chorus) (Unused)
  18. Joppa (Original Version)
  19. The Quest (Alternate Version)
  20. Procession Drums
  21. The Constellations – End Title (LP Version – Narration by Laurence Olivier)

Portions of this set were previously released as Columbia LP JS-37386, 1981 and PEG Recordings PEG-014, 1997.

Lewis Teague, Navy SEALS: Original Motion Picture Score (Intrada Special Collection Vol. 151 – original film released 1990)

  1. Main Title
  2. The First Mission
  3. Search Team
  4. Training Camp
  5. Freighter Raid
  6. High Jumpers
  7. Into Town
  8. Graham’s Dead
  9. Funeral
  10. Beirut
  11. Stinger
  12. God is Dead
  13. Planting the Dynamite
  14. Saving Curran
  15. Da Auto
  16. Back to the Sub
  17. To the Rescue
  18. The Missiles
  19. Never Talk About Now
  20. TV Documentary Underscore
  21. Funeral (Alternate with Trumpet)

All tracks previously unreleased.

Lyn Murray and Paul Sawtell, On the Threshold of Space/The Hunters: Original Motion Picture Scores (Intrada Special Collection Vol. 152 – original films released 1956 and 1958)

  1. Overture
  2. Windblast
  3. Satellite
  4. Free Fall
  5. Fallout
  6. Ascent
  7. Survival
  8. Matin
  9. X Minus 10
  10. Black Sky
  11. Descent
  12. Finale
  13. Main Title
  14. Hot Coffee
  15. Secret Rendezvous
  16. Tender Thoughts
  17. The Comparison
  18. Cleve’s First Encounter
  19. Combat Montage
  20. Lover’s Love
  21. What a Deal
  22. MIGs on the Prowl
  23. Crapshooter’s Luck
  24. The Mission
  25. Brutal Forces
  26. Remorse
  27. End Titles
  28. The Hunters (Music from the Trailer; vocals by John Gabriel)

All tracks previously unreleased. Tracks 1-12 from On the Threshold of Space. Tracks 13-28 from The Hunters.

Basil Poledouris, Flesh + Blood: Original Motion Picture Score (Intrada Special Collection Vol. 153, 2010 – original film released 1985)

  1. Main Title
  2. Siege of the City
  3. The Noose
  4. A Rotten Trick
  5. Saint Martin
  6. Lesson in Nature
  7. Agnes and Kathleen
  8. Courtship and Mandrake
  9. Wagon Attack
  10. The Rape
  11. Martin’s Withdrawal/The Pointer/The Castle
  12. Castle Invasion
  13. Feast for Martin
  14. Martin & Agnes Love Theme
  15. Rescue Me
  16. Night Fires
  17. The Box
  18. The Burning Wheel
  19. The Plague Dog
  20. Water (The Undoing)
  21. Prepare for Battle
  22. Arnolfini Assault
  23. Denouement/End Title
  24. The Box (with Percussion Overlay)

Tracks 1-2, 8-9, 12, 14, 16-17, 20 and 22-23 previously released as Varese Sarabande LP STV-81256, 1985. Portions of some other tracks released on Prometheus CD PCR-513, 2002.

Written by Mike Duquette

December 14, 2010 at 13:35

Posted in News, Reissues, Soundtracks

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: