The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

Tim Buckley’s Debut to Be Expanded (UPDATED 12/18)

with one comment

Rhino is releasing Tim Buckley’s debut album for Elektra next week, sources confirm.

Buckley was all of 19 years old when he recorded his debut LP in 1966 with Elektra founder Jac Holzman co-producing and a stunningly strong group of session players backing him up (Lee Underwood on guitar, Jim Fielder of Blood, Sweat and Tears on bass, Van Dyke Parks on piano and Mothers of Invention drummer Billy Mundi). Though critics never gave him scores of attention, he is now widely regarded as one of the more preeminent folk singers of the day, a particular inspiration to many sensitive, experimental singer-songwriters – including his own son, Jeff. (In a case of bizarre, tragic irony, both Tim and Jeff died at young ages, before their music had a chance to grip critics as they do now.)

The Rhino Handmade edition of Tim Buckley will include the original album in both stereo and mono and an extra disc of demos, some cut with Buckley’s original group, The Bohemians. It’s now yours to order here; view the track list after the jump.

Tim Buckley, Tim Buckley: Deluxe Edition (Rhino Handmade, 2010)

Disc 1: Original LP in stereo and mono

  1. I Can’t See You
  2. Wings
  3. Song of the Magician
  4. Strange Street Affair Under Blue
  5. Valentine Melody
  6. Aren’t You the Girl
  7. Song Slowly Song
  8. It Happens Every Time
  9. Song for Jainie
  10. Grief in My Soul
  11. She Is
  12. Understand Your Man
  13. I Can’t See You (Mono)
  14. Wings (Mono)
  15. Song of the Magician (Mono)
  16. Strange Street Affair Under Blue (Mono)
  17. Valentine Melody (Mono)
  18. Aren’t You the Girl (Mono)
  19. Song Slowly Song (Mono)
  20. It Happens Every Time (Mono)
  21. Song for Jainie (Mono)
  22. Grief in My Soul (Mono)
  23. She Is (Mono)
  24. Understand Your Man (Mono)

Tracks 1-12 released as Elektra LP EKS-74004, 1966
Tracks 13-24 released as Elektra LP EKL-4004, 1966

Disc 2: Demos

  1. Put You Down – The Bohemians
  2. It Happens Every Time – The Bohemians
  3. Let Me Love You – The Bohemians
  4. I’ve Played That Game Before – The Bohemians
  5. She Is – The Bohemians
  6. Here I Am – The Bohemians
  7. Don’t Look Back – The Bohemians
  8. Call Me If You Do – The Bohemians
  9. You Today – The Bohemians
  10. No More – The Bohemians
  11. Won’t You Please Be My Woman – The Bohemians
  12. Come On Over – The Bohemians
  13. She Is (Acoustic Demo)
  14. Aren’t You the Girl (Acoustic Demo)
  15. Found at the Scene of a Rendezvous That Failed (Acoustic Demo)
  16. Wings (Acoustic Demo)
  17. My Love is for You (Acoustic Demo)
  18. Song Slowly Song (Acoustic Demo)
  19. Song Introductions by Larry Beckett
  20. I Can’t See You (Acoustic Demo)
  21. Birth Day (Acoustic Demo)
  22. Long Tide (Acoustic Demo)

All tracks on Disc 2 previously unreleased.

Written by Mike Duquette

December 18, 2010 at 00:03

Posted in News, Reissues, Tim Buckley

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Between this and the Ride reissue, Rhino Handmade is putting out some releases that I’m very interested in. The $40 price is a real dealbreaker, however.

    Charlie Sheen

    December 21, 2010 at 16:33

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: