The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

Cherry Red Preps Joe Cocker Reissue, Kiki Dee Compilation

leave a comment »

Some more goodies are coming out of the Universal vaults from the Cherry Red label group.

The T-Bird label is reissuing Joe Cocker’s Sheffield Steel from 1982. Like most Joe Cocker records, the iconic singer lays down great versions of rock and soul covers (written by luminaries including Randy Newman, Jimmy Webb and Steve Winwood). Unlike most Joe Cocker records, Sheffield Steel is heavy on reggae, with instrumental contribution from Sly and Robbie and guest vocals from Jimmy Cliff and Robert Palmer. The album was previously reissued by Island in 2002 with two 12″ remixes and a pair of unreleased outtakes; that presentation is replicated here.

More intriguing for collectors is I’m Kiki Dee: The Fontana Years 1963-1968 on the RPM label. A jam-packed disc, it includes all of Dee’s single, EP and LP sides from the years long before hitting it big with “Don’t Go Breaking My Heart,” her duet with Elton John, in 1976. It’s not complete – Dee recorded several tunes in other languages – but it is rather thorough, even including three incredibly rare BBC performances and new liner notes featuring contributions from Kiki and musical collaborator Les Reed.

Both sets are coming out in the U.K. on January 24. Pre-order them here and here and hit the jump for track lists.

Joe Cocker, Sheffield Steel: Expanded Edition (T-Bird Records TBIRD0039CD, 2011)

  1. Look What You’ve Done
  2. Shocked
  3. Sweet Little Woman
  4. Seven Days
  5. Marie
  6. Ruby Lee
  7. Many Rivers to Cross
  8. So Good, So Right
  9. Talking Back to the Night
  10. Just Like Always
  11. Sweet Little Woman (12″ Mix)
  12. Look What You’ve Done (12″ Mix)
  13. Right in the Middle (of Falling in Love)
  14. Inner City Blues

This package previously released as Island CD 440 063 152-2, 2002
Tracks 1-10 released as Island LP ILPS-9700 (U.K.), 1982
Tracks 11-12 released as Island 12″ single 12WIP 6708 (U.K.), 1982
Tracks 13-14 were unreleased outtakes first released on Island expanded edition

Kiki Dee, I’m Kiki Dee: The Fontana Years 1963-1968 (RPM RETRO986, 2011)

  1. Early Night
  2. Lucky High Heels
  3. Don’t Put Your Heart in His Hand
  4. I Was Only Kidding
  5. Miracles
  6. That’s Right, Walk On By
  7. (You Don’t Know) How Glad I Am
  8. Baby I Don’t Care
  9. Runnin’ Out of Fools
  10. There He Goes
  11. Why Don’t I Run Away from You
  12. Small Town
  13. I Dig You Baby
  14. With a Kiss
  15. Stop and Think
  16. Doctor in Clover
  17. Take a Look At Me
  18. I’m Going Out (The Same Way I Came In)
  19. We’ve Got Everything Going for Us
  20. I
  21. Excuse Me
  22. Patterns
  23. Sunshine
  24. When We Get There
  25. Don’t Destroy Me
  26. Really Saying Something (BBC Radio Session, 11/15/1967)
  27. If I Loved You (BBC Radio Session, 11/15/1967)
  28. Excuse Me (BBC Radio Session, 11/15/1967)
  29. Can’t Take My Eyes Off You
  30. Hungry Heart
  31. Now the Flowers Cry
  32. On a Magic Carpet Ride

Tracks 1-2 released as Fontana single TF-394, 1963
Tracks 3-4 released as Fontana single TF-414, 1963
Tracks 5-6 released as Fontana single TF-443, 1964
Tracks 7-8 released as Fontana single TF-490, 1964
Tracks 9-10 released as Fontana single TF-596, 1965
Tracks 7-10 also released as Kiki Dee EP (Fontana TE-17443, 1965)
Tracks 11-12 released as Fontana single TF-669, 1966
Tracks 13-14 and 16-17 released as Kiki in Clover EP (Fontana TE-17470, 1966)
Tracks 11, 13-15 and 18-25 also released as I’m Kiki Dee (Fontana TL-5455, 1968)
Tracks 26-28 previously unreleased
Tracks 29-30 released as Fontana single TF-926, 1968
Tracks 31-32 released as Fontana single TF-983, 1968

Written by Mike Duquette

January 3, 2011 at 13:35

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: