The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

Archive for January 10th, 2011

Intrada Sets Watch to “48 Hrs.,” Makes “Great Escape”

leave a comment »

Intrada’s first releases of the new year are two big name scores sure to please a few generations’ worth of film music fans.

First up is the world premiere release of James Horner’s score to 48 Hrs., the 1982 buddy cop comedy starring Nick Nolte and Eddie Murphy in one of his first major motion picture roles. This disc features Horner’s complete score (one of his earliest successes of the ’80s), plus three tracks by The Busboys (including end credits tune “The Boys Are Back in Town”) and one source cue by another favorite composer, Ira Newborn. It’s a limited set with a high unit count of 5,000.

The label’s other big title is a heavy-duty reissue of Elmer Bernstein’s score to the Steve McQueen classic The Great Escape (1963). This three(!) disc set includes two CDs of the original motion picture score (cleaned up from several previous reissues on the Rykodisc and Varese labels) and the original re-recorded score LP, also conducted by Bernstein. This set is happily part of Intrada’s MAF line of unlimited releases – and it’s a steal at $19.99.

Order each set here and here, and get the track listings after the jump.

Read the rest of this entry »

Written by Mike Duquette

January 10, 2011 at 21:27

Posted in News, Reissues, Soundtracks

Fela! In a Box!

leave a comment »

Fans of Nigerian musical maverick Fela Kuti have something to celebrate: a whole bunch of Fela-related reissues are coming in the next few weeks from Knitting Factory Records.

The blog Altered States reports that a multi-LP vinyl box set will street on February 1. Consisting of six of Fela’s albums – 1975’s Everything Scatter and Expensive Shit, 1977’s Fear Not for Man and Sorrow Tears and Blood, Teacher Don’t Teach Me Nonsense (1986) and Beasts of No Nation (1989) – in reproductions of their original packaging and labels, and featuring a vintage poster replica and a 12-page booklet featuring liner notes and essays from journalist Chris May and Ahmir “?uestlove” Thompson, drummer for the hip-hop group The Roots and curator of the set.

Additionally, there are several Amazon listings for straight reissues of several Fela records (including some of the material from the vinyl box and a few two-fers) on January 18. (The final listing is erroneously listed as having come out last January 18.) Those order links are after the jump, along with track lists for all of the new sets.

Read the rest of this entry »

Written by Mike Duquette

January 10, 2011 at 17:47

Dave Grusin’s “Dry White Season” Revisited

leave a comment »

With a cast including Donald Sutherland, Susan Sarandon and Marlon Brando in one of his final film triumphs, 1989’s A Dry White Season had the potential to be an instant classic. Yet despite this star-studded assemblage, strong reviews and an impressive pedigree (it was based on Andre Brinks’ powerful novel which was banned in South Africa for challenging apartheid), audiences stayed away, and A Dry White Season vanished from theatres. Still, Brando was recognized with a Best Supporting Actor nomination at the Academy Awards, and the film gained a following over the years through cable airings and home video releases.

The Kritzerland label this morning announced its latest release, illuminating another aspect of the film’s legend: its stirring score by the versatile Dave Grusin. An Academy Award winner for The Milagro Beanfield War and multiple nominee, Grusin has never been pigeonholed in one style, and his soundtrack for A Dry White Season is among his most moving work. Fans of Grusin’s dynamic score to The Goonies, itself the recent recipient of a deluxe reissue from Varese, are urged to explore this amazing, overlooked score.

Produced by Bruce Kimmel, Kritzerland’s release contains 15 core tracks and four bonuses, including alternate takes and source music cues. As the score was heavily truncated in the film’s final edit, this CD presentation presents the cues as written and recorded. It is limited to 1000 copies and retails for $19.98, and can be pre-ordered hereA Dry White Season is due the last week of February, but pre-orders usually ship an average of four weeks early. Hit the jump for the full press release and track listing with sound samples! Read the rest of this entry »

Written by Joe Marchese

January 10, 2011 at 15:58

Posted in News, Reissues, Soundtracks

“Stop” the Presses! Classic Hollies on the Way

with 3 comments

Before discovering his golden vocal blend with David Crosby and Stephen Stills, Graham Nash made sweet music with Allan Clarke as a member of The Hollies. With a core lineup of Nash, Clarke, Tony Hicks and Bobby Elliott (with bassist Eric Haydock replaced by Bernie Calvert in 1966), The Hollies possessed arguably the finest harmonies of any British Invasion act, and the band was finally rewarded with a coveted spot in the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 2010.

Like The Beatles, The Rolling Stones and most of their other British compatriots, The Hollies found their original U.K. LPs retooled for American release. While the band’s U.K. catalogue is well-represented on CD, most of the related U.S. albums have been overlooked. In 2010, Sundazed Music released The Hollies’ first two American albums on Imperial Records in mono on vinyl only (c’mon, guys, how about a CD release too?); somewhat ironically, it’s the U.K.’s BGO label delivering the group’s fourth and fifth Imperial albums, both from 1966, on a “two-fer” CD. The combined Bus Stop and Stop! Stop! Stop! streets on February 7.

Bus Stop is one of the few American albums by The Hollies to have no British counterpart. The title track, written by 10cc’s Graham Gouldman, hit No. 5 on the American singles chart, having peaked at No. 2 abroad. (The Hollies’ American success didn’t happen overnight; while their first Top 10 single in the U.K. arrived in 1964, it wasn’t until 1966 and “Look Through Any Window” that they cracked the American Top 40.) While Bus Stop only hit No. 75 on the album charts, it was nonetheless the band’s first American LP to place in the Top 100. Built around the title single, it was otherwise comprised of songs from older albums that hadn’t yet seen release in the U.S., and this mixed bag included covers of Simon and Garfunkel’s “I Am a Rock,” Smokey Robinson and The Miracles’ “Mickey’s Monkey” and Chuck Berry’s “Sweet Little Sixteen.” (Nobody could accuse the Hollies of lacking stylistic variety!) All possessed the trademark Hollies harmonies, with Nash’s high vocal line soaring on “I Am a Rock.” The album also featured songs written by the team of Clarke, Nash and Tony Hicks.  “We’re Through” (the B-side of “Bus Stop”) had an arrangement redolent of Johnny Rivers’ “Secret Agent Man” but a sound that was pure Hollies, while “Oriental Sadness” was another distinct composition marked by Nash’s dynamic and already recognizable vocals.

Don’t Stop! Stop! Stop! now. Hit the jump to continue with details on that classic album, plus pre-order information and track listing for BGO’s two-fer! Read the rest of this entry »

Written by Joe Marchese

January 10, 2011 at 10:47

Posted in News, Reissues, The Hollies