The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

Zombies LPs to Be Revived As Double-Disc Sets

with 2 comments

Repertoire Records is releasing double-disc editions of the original two albums by The Zombies.

The British group, acclaimed for such singles as “She’s Not There” and “Time of the Season,” only cut two albums in the late ’60s – Begin Here for Decca and Odessy and Oracle for CBS – before splitting up. But there was plenty of material to be had; there were quite a few non-LP singles and a host of material for a third, never-released album. This work has been anthologized before – perhaps most notably in the 1997 box set Zombie Heaven on the Big Beat label in the U.K. – but these discs feature new remasters by John Astley and original artwork in a digipak case.

Both sets can be ordered from Repertoire’s site here and here (they’re expected to ship on January 21). Hit the jump for track info.

The Zombies, Begin Here: The Complete Decca Mono Recordings 1964-1967 (Repertoire REP5179, 2011)

Disc 1: Original LP (originally released as Decca LK 4679 (U.K.), 1965)

  1. Road Runner
  2. Summertime
  3. I Can’t Make Up My Mind
  4. The Way I Feel Inside
  5. Work ‘n’ Play
  6. You’ve Really Got a Hold on Me
  7. She’s Not There
  8. Sticks and Stones
  9. Can’t Nobody Love You
  10. Woman
  11. I Don’t Want to Know
  12. I Remember When I Loved Her
  13. What More Can I Do
  14. I’ve Got My Mojo Working

Disc 2: Singles and EP tracks

  1. You Make Me Feel Good
  2. Leave Me Be
  3. Kind of Girl
  4. Sometimes
  5. It’s Alright
  6. Tell Her No
  7. She’s Coming Home
  8. I Must Move
  9. I Want You Back Again
  10. Whenever You’re Ready
  11. I Love You
  12. Is This the Dream
  13. Don’t Go Away
  14. Nothing’s Changed
  15. Remember You (Soundtrack Version)
  16. Remember You
  17. Just Out of Reach
  18. Indication
  19. How We Were Before
  20. Gotta Get a Hold of Myself
  21. Goin’ Out of My Head
  22. She Does Everything for Me

Disc 2, Track 1 was the B-side to “She’s Not There” – Decca F-11940 (U.K.), 1964
Disc 2, Track 2 was a single A-side – Decca F-12004 (U.K.), 1964
Disc 2, Tracks 3-5 from Decca EP DFE 8598 (U.K.), 1964
Disc 2, Track 6 was a single A-side – Decca F-12072 (U.K.), 1965
Disc 2, Tracks 7-8 released as Decca single F-12125 (U.K.), 1965
Disc 2, Track 9 was a single A-side – Parrot 45-PAR 9769 (U.S.), 1965
Disc 2, Tracks 10-11 released as Decca single F-12225 (U.K.), 1965
Disc 2, Tracks 12-13 released as Decca single F-12296 (U.K.), 1965
Disc 2, Tracks 14-15 from Bunny Lake is Missing: Original Motion Picture Soundtrack (RCA Victor LOC 1115 (U.S.), 1965)
Disc 2, Tracks 16-17 released as Decca single F-12322 (U.K.), 1966
Disc 2, Tracks 18-19 released as Decca single F-12426 (U.K.), 1966
Disc 2, Track 20 was a single A-side – Decca F-12495 (U.K.), 1966
Disc 2, Tracks 21-22 released as Decca single F-12584 (U.K.), 1967

The Zombies, Odessey and Oracle: The CBS Years 1967-1969 (Repertoire REP5182, 2011)

Disc 1: Mono LP and bonus track

  1. Care of Cell 44
  2. A Rose for Emily
  3. Maybe After He’s Gone
  4. Beechwood Park
  5. Brief Candles
  6. Hung Up on a Dream
  7. Changes
  8. I Want Her She Wants Me
  9. This Will Be Our Year
  10. Butcher’s Tale (Western Front 1914)
  11. Friends of Mine
  12. Time of the Season
  13. I’ll Call You Mine

Disc 1, Tracks 1-12 released as CBS LP 63280, 1968
Disc 1, Track 13 was the B-side to “Time of the Season” – CBS 3380, 1967

Disc 2: Stereo LP and R.I.P.

  1. Care of Cell 44
  2. A Rose for Emily
  3. Maybe After He’s Gone
  4. Beechwood Park
  5. Brief Candles
  6. Hung Up on a Dream
  7. Changes
  8. I Want Her She Wants Me
  9. This Will Be Our Year
  10. Butcher’s Tale (Western Front 1914)
  11. Friends of Mine
  12. Time of the Season
  13. A Rose for Emily (Alternative Mix)
  14. She Loves the Way They Love Her
  15. Imagine the Swan
  16. Smokey Day
  17. Girl Help Me
  18. I Could Spend the Day
  19. Conversation Off Floral Street
  20. If It Don’t Work Out
  21. I’ll Keep Trying
  22. I Know She Will
  23. Don’t Cry for Me
  24. Walking in the Sun

Disc 2, Tracks 1-12 from CBS LP S-63280 (U.K.), 1968
Disc 2, Tracks 13, 17-18 and 21 from Zombie Heaven (Big Beat ZOMBOX 7 (U.K.), 1997)
Disc 2, Tracks 14, 16, 20 and 22-24 released on Time of The Zombies (Epic 32861 (U.K.), 1974)
Disc 2, Tracks 15 and 19 released as CBS single 4242 (Europe), 1967

Written by Mike Duquette

January 19, 2011 at 12:44

Posted in News, Reissues, The Zombies

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Repertoire’s the shonkiest label ever. Save your money and buy Zombie Heaven. You get everything here (except the mono O&O) a whole disc of BBC sessions and half a disc of outtakes not on here and a huge book that’ll tell you everything you want to know. If you’re DESPERATE to spend more money on the Zombies get the Big Beat reissues of the albums for the mono O&O and a couple of non essential backing tracks, the Decca Stereo Anthology 2 CD set and the Into the Afterlife which collects the best solo stuff and a couple of r&b covers.


    January 19, 2011 at 17:18

    • Absolutely, I agree with you. Repertoire’s Zombies product is pointless. Buy the Ace/Big Beat label UK product.

      Phil Cohen

      January 19, 2011 at 22:58

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: