The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

More Smokey Reissues Cruisin’ Your Way (UPDATED)

with 5 comments

(UPDATE 1/26: This set is now available to order direct from Hip-o Select.)

Usually, the first place to hear about Hip-o Select titles is through Hip-o Select themselves. They keep a semi-frequent newsletter and an active Twitter feed which usually gets the links out to their new reissues and box sets.

It’s strange, then, that there hasn’t yet been a peep about their forthcoming installment in the long-running The Solo Albums two-fers from Smokey Robinson. Meanwhile, Amazon has put up a full track list, something which rarely happens before Hip-o gets theirs up.

The fourth volume in the successful series collates Smokey’s last two studio LPs of the 1970s: Love Breeze (1978) and Where There’s Smoke… (1979). The latter of the two was Robinson’s first Top 40 album since 1975’s A Quiet Storm, thanks largely to the delightful “Cruisin’,” which would be the singer’s highest-charting solo single at the time, peaking at No. 4. (It earned the adoration of a new generation in 2000, when it was covered by Huey Lewis and Gwyneth Paltrow for the largely forgettable film Duets.)

A bonus track will also be included in the form of an instrumental version of “Get Ready,” a tune Smokey wrote for The Temptations in 1966. It appeared on the 12″ single of the song in 1979. There’s also no word yet on any Hip-o Select release of Smokin’, the 1978 double live album released in between these studio efforts. (UPDATE: We just got off the phone with Motown reissue guru Harry Weinger, who confirmed that The Solo Albums Volume 5 is going to be Smokin’.)

The Solo Albums Volume 4 is out February 15, per Amazon. View the track list after the jump.

Smokey Robinson, The Solo Albums Volume 4: Love Breeze/Where There’s Smoke… (Motown/Hip-o Select, 2011)

  1. Why You Wanna See My Bad Side
  2. Love So Fine
  3. Feeling You, Feeling Me
  4. Madam X
  5. Shoe Soul
  6. Trying It Again
  7. Daylight & Darkness
  8. I’m Loving You Softly
  9. It’s a Good Night
  10. I Love the Nearness of You
  11. The Hurt’s on You
  12. Ever Had a Dream
  13. Get Ready
  14. Share It
  15. Cruisin’
  16. Get Ready (12″ Instrumental Mix)

Tracks 1-8 released as Love Breeze – Tamla T7-359R1, 1978
Tracks 9-15 released as Where There’s Smoke… – Tamla T7-366R1, 1979
Track 16 was a 12″ B-side – Motown M-00027 D1, 1979

Written by Mike Duquette

January 25, 2011 at 12:16

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. D’Angelo’s cover from 1996 was a million times better.

    Also, at the finals of the competition in Duets, one of the contestants performing was a then under the radar singer who is nominated for a Grammy this year… Michael Buble.

    Eric Luecking

    January 25, 2011 at 12:25

  2. Hip-O are really stepping up the releases with this series! Wish they’d do the same with the remaining Diana Ross, Rick James and Teena Marie albums before cd’s disappear altogether…


    January 25, 2011 at 13:18

  3. @rick Teena on had 4 motown releases… they rest are sony & universal


    January 25, 2011 at 15:03

    • I’m happy Smokey’s solo stuff is getting recognition, but it would also be nice to see more 70s Motown stuff, such as the aforementioned remaining Diana Ross catalogue, Thelma Houston, and – at long last – the latter part of the ’70s Supremes output.


      January 25, 2011 at 19:38

    • yep I know, Hip-O did “Wild and Peaceful” and were supposed to follow that one up with “Lady Tee” and “Irons In The Fire” but they never materialized…


      January 26, 2011 at 16:05

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: