The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

UPDATE: Marley Versions Aplenty

with 3 comments

The release of Live Forever, Bob Marley’s last concert on CD, yielded the first retail exclusives for a catalogue title in 2011 – a T-shirt for Target buyers and a bonus disc for Best Buy customers – and we have some more detail about the offerings at each store.

For reasons I can’t wrap my head around, Target is also offering a third version of the set – not only the double-disc edition with and without the T-shirt, but a pared-down single-disc version of the album. While the full version of Live Forever, spread across two discs, is in a digipak, this Target-exclusive “highlights” disc is in a jewel case, instead. It’s relatively cheap at $7.99 (this week’s sale price), but why would anyone want to avoid the extra $4 for the full concert – particularly when so many live archive sets get cut down?

The Best Buy bonus disc, meanwhile, collates five rarer studio tracks found on compilations and deluxe reissues along with an embedded video of an interview with the Marley family. These tracks had previously been released as an iTunes EP, but it’s always nice to get these tracks on disc. (Thanks to super-reader Don for the tip!)

The track lists for the amended Live Forever and the Best Buy-exclusive disc are after the jump.

Bob Marley and The Wailers, Live Forever: September 23, 1980 – The Stanley Theatre, Pittsburgh, PA – Highlights (Island/Tuff Gong/UMe B0015257-02, 2011)

  1. Greetings
  2. Natural Mystic
  3. Positive Vibration
  4. Them Belly Full
  5. Is This Love
  6. The Heathen
  7. War/No More Trouble
  8. Zion Train
  9. No Woman, No Cry
  10. Jamming
  11. Exodus
  12. Redemption Song
  13. Could You Be Loved

All tracks released on Live Forever: September 23, 1980 – The Stanley Theatre, Pittsburgh, PA (Island/Tuff Gong/UMe B0014669-02, 2011)

Bob Marley and The Wailers, Live Forever Bonus Disc (Island/Tuff Gong/UMe, 2011)

  1. I Know a Place – 3:44
  2. Punky Reggae Party (Jamaican 12″ Version)
  3. Smile Jamaica
  4. Who Colt the Game
  5. Keep on Moving
  6. Marley Family Interview (Enhanced Video – recorded live at The Benedum Center For Performing Arts (formerly Stanley Theater), Pittsburgh, PA – 9/23/2010)

Alternate version of Track 1 released on One Love: The Very Best of Bob Marley & The Wailers (Island 548 853-2 (U.K.), 2001)
Track 2 released on Tuff Gong 12″ single (Jamaica) – also released on Exodus: Deluxe Edition (Island/Tuff Gong 314 586 408-2, 2001)
Track 3 released on reissue of Kaya (Island/Tuff Gong 314 548 899-2, 2001)
Track 4 released on bonus disc included with some copies of One Love: The Very Best of Bob Marley & The Wailers (Island 586 551-2 (U.K.), 2001)
Track 5 released on Exodus: Deluxe Edition (Island/Tuff Gong 314 586 408-2, 2001)
All tracks previously released as I Know a Place digital EP (Island/Tuff Gong/UMe, 2009)

Written by Mike Duquette

February 2, 2011 at 10:19

Posted in Bob Marley, News, Reissues

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. The really weird thing is that the Target box set with the T-shirt includes the edited “Highlights” CD, NOT the full 2-CD concert version!!!! WTF? If you’re an uber-Marley fan willing to pony up for the T-shirt, wouldn’t you also want the full concert set? This is totally crazy.


    February 2, 2011 at 12:48

    • The shirt/box version was sold out at my local Target. Wondering if whoever bought them was mad about the lack of full show on the disc therein. I’d spring for Best Buy if I had to pick between the two – I have enough t-shirts as it is.

      Mike Duquette

      February 2, 2011 at 13:32

  2. Notice the highlights disc does not contain either of the subpar sounding final two tracks on the main set?


    February 3, 2011 at 16:10

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: