The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

The Softer Side of Soundtracks Explored by FSM

leave a comment »

Film Score Monthly’s newest release is ladylike – at least, the scores presented therein are from films that appeal to the ladies.

Appearing for the first time anywhere are a pair of scores: Georges Delerue’s score to Rich and Famous, a 1981 film featuring Candice Bergen and Jacqueline Bisset as writers and lifelong friends and Michel Legrand’s music to One is a Lonely Number (1972), which chronicled the plight of a recently-divorced woman (Trish Van Devere, who received a Golden Globe nomination for her performance – ironically, the same year Van Devere began a long marriage with George C. Scott that lasted through his passing in 1999). Both scores are lushly orchestrated and feature a variety of styles and textures, making this an early surprise for soundtrack collectors in 2011. Both have been sourced from the original three-track stereo masters.

The set is limited to 2,000 copies. Order it here and check the track list after the jump!

Georges Delerue/Michel Legrand, Rich and Famous / One is a Lonely Number: Original Motion Picture Scores (Film Score Monthly Vol. 14, No. 2, 2011 – original films released 1981/1972)

  1. Something Strange About You/End Credits (wild)
  2. Main Title
  3. String Quartet
  4. You Owe Me One/Into Him
  5. Reading the Script/3M2/You’re OK
  6. Some Years
  7. Taxi/I Lied/Teddy Bear/Liz
  8. Eighteen
  9. Goodnight/Chris/Making Love/Very Still (Alternate)/Very Still/Give Me 555/Slowly Read It/Crying Liz
  10. Something Strange About You (Alternate)
  11. Something Strange About You/End Credits
  12. 1M1 (Main Title)
  13. 1M2 (Alone in the City)
  14. 2M1 (The Dress)
  15. 4M1 (Sad Memories)
  16. 5M1 (Loneliness)
  17. 5M2 (Source Rock)
  18. Le Soleil, la Mer et les Bateaux
  19. 7M1 (The Diving Board)/Shakespearean Fanfare (Mel Stuart)
  20. 9M1 (Moving On)
  21. 9M2 (The Gift)/Fender Rhodes (The Chess Game)
  22. 10M1 (The Photo)
  23. 10M2 (Amy Hits Bottom)
  24. 11M1 (At the Morgue)
  25. 12M1 (Finale and End Cast)

All tracks previously unreleased.
Tracks 1-11 from Rich and Famous – music composed and conducted by Georges Delerue
Tracks 12-25 from One is a Lonely Number – music composed and conducted by Michel Legrand. Song: “Le Soleil, la Mer et les Bateaux” – music by Michel Legrand, lyrics by Jean Drejac – sung by Michel Legrand

Written by Mike Duquette

February 4, 2011 at 12:40

Posted in News, Reissues, Soundtracks

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: