The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

A Material Reissue Coming from Hip-o Select

with one comment

Every now and then one wonders what Hip-o Select has to offer outside of the Motown and Verve canon. Not that the volumes of catalogue gold coming from the fine producers and compilers devoted to those genres are overkill – quite the opposite – but it would be nice to see other acts in the Universal roster receive the Select treatment.

That’s what makes the news of a reissue from short-lived power-pop band Material Issue such a delight. The Chicago band only released a small handful of LPs, EPs and singles before lead singer Jim Ellison took his own life in 1996. And despite several singles in the upper reaches of the Billboard Mainstream Rock charts and a power-pop festival posthumously named for their debut album, the band are still arguably not given the acclaim they deserve.

Hip-o Select will attempt to rectify this in April with a 20th anniversary reissue of the album. In addition to remastering the 14-track LP, eight bonus tracks will be included. Six of them appeared on a promotional-only album (the other tracks from that disc, which do not appear on this reissue, are an acoustic take on “Diane” and a live version of “Valerie Loves Me”), one (“Sixteen Tambourines”) ended up on a college-radio sampler and another (“The Girl with the Saddest Eyes”) looks to have been previously unreleased.

All in all, it looks like a pretty worthwhile set, and it will be available on April 5. (No pre-order link is live from Select just yet, but we can credit our friends at Slicing Up Eyeballs with the track list, viewable after the jump.)

Material Issue, International Pop Overthrow: 20th Anniversary Edition (Hip-o Select, 2011)

  1. Valerie Loves Me
  2. Diane
  3. Renee Remains the Same
  4. This Letter
  5. Out Right Now
  6. Crazy
  7. Chance of a Lifetime
  8. International Pop Overthrow
  9. Very First Lie
  10. Trouble
  11. There Was a Few
  12. This Far Before
  13. A Very Good Idea
  14. Li’l Christine
  15. Cowboy Song
  16. Blockbuster
  17. Echo Beach
  18. She’s Goin’ Through My Head
  19. The Boxer (Live)
  20. The Girl Who Never Falls in Love
  21. Sixteen Tambourines
  22. The Girl with the Saddest Eyes

Tracks 1-14 from Mercury LP 848 155-1, 1991
Track 15 from “Diane” CD single – Mercury 868 165-2, 1991
Track 16 from Blockbuster EP – Mercury PRO 924-1, 1991
Track 19 from “Diane” 7″ single – Mercury MER 349, 1991
Tracks 17-18 and 20 from Eleven Supersonic Hit Explosions (Mercury SACD 390, 1991)
Track 21 from CMJ Certain Damage compilation (exact volume unknown), 1988
Track 22 previously unreleased

Written by Mike Duquette

February 14, 2011 at 12:37

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wow! I am so excited! I bought this when it first came out (saw a video for “Valerie Loves Me”) and still play it regularly. Anything by this band is a good time.


    February 14, 2011 at 15:13

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: