The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

ICON Updates from Universal

with one comment

The next batch of Universal’s ICON series is out in a few days, but we’re already seeing more on the horizon.

Two Icon country titles are coming out on March 22: one by Josh Turner, who enjoyed his biggest hit on the country charts last year with the No. 1 single “Why Don’t We Just Dance,” and Billy Currington, who’s racked up an impressive nine Top 10 singles on the country charts since his debut in 2003.

But that’s not all – April 5 is going to see another batch of ICON discs from all corners of the Universal catalogue according to Amazon, including Eric Clapton, The Who, Quincy Jones, B.B. King, Sublime, Cat Stevens, Joe Cocker, Avant and Local H. Only track lists for the last two (admittedly lesser known) bands have surfaced, but both sets actually boast a handful of previously unreleased tracks. While the bigger names likely won’t spoil fans with rare content on a budget title, we’ll surely find out soon enough.

Check out the track lists for Currington and Turner’s sets after the jump, and keep it here for more information on these compilations as it happens.

Billy Currington, ICON (Mercury Nashville/UMe B0015290-02, 2011)

  1. I Got a Feelin’
  2. Must Be Doin’ Somethin’ Right
  3. Why, Why, Why
  4. Good Directions
  5. That’s How Country Boys Roll
  6. Don’t
  7. People Are Crazy
  8. Tangled Up
  9. Walk a Little Straighter
  10. Swimmin’ in Sunshine
  11. She’s Got a Way with Me

Tracks 1 and 9 from Billy Currington (Mercury Nashville, 2003)
Tracks 2-4 and 11 from Doin’ Somethin’ Right (Mercury Nashville, 2005)
Tracks 5-7 and 10 from Little Bit of Everything (Mercury Nashville, 2008)
Track 8 from non-album single (Mercury Nashville, 2007)

Josh Turner, ICON (MCA Nashville/UMe B0015348-02, 2011)

  1. Firecracker
  2. As Fast As I Could
  3. Would You Go with Me
  4. Backwoods Boy
  5. Your Man
  6. Long Black Train
  7. Everything is Fine
  8. She’ll Go on You
  9. Me and God
  10. All Over Me
  11. Why Don’t We Just Dance

Tracks 1 and 7 from Everything is Fine (MCA Nashville, 2007)
Tracks 2 and 10-11 from Haywire (MCA Nashville, 2010)
Tracks 3, 5 and 9 from Your Man (MCA Nashville, 2006)
Tracks 4, 6 and 8 from Long Black Train (MCA Nashville, 2003)

Written by Mike Duquette

February 26, 2011 at 14:36

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. heh
    hope your ok man.


    February 27, 2011 at 08:01

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: