The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

Joan Baez to Reissue “Play Me Backwards” With Additional Tracks

with one comment

Joan Baez recently announced the reissue of her 1992 album Play Me Backwards as a nicely expanded set – but you’ll have to pony up if you want it in the States.

Play Me Backwards marked a lot of firsts for the folk singer: her first album in Nashville since Come from the Shadows (1972), her first of many collaborations with songwriters/producers Kenny Greenberg and Wally Wilson, her main collaborators for most of the 1990s and her first music video, for the track “Stones in the Road.” The album was a considerable success in its own right, earning a Grammy nomination for Best Contemporary Folk Recording.

But it turns out there was more to the record, as this new edition from Proper Records suggests. The set will be expanded with no less than 10 previously unreleased demos, including “Seven Curses,” a long-unreleased song written by Bob Dylan. (His own demo was only recently released!) It will also feature new artwork and a new essay by Arthur Levy.

Now here’s the rub: Proper will only release the CD in the U.K. and Europe, so you’ll have to import the disc if you want a copy. However, another label, Diverse Records, will release the expanded set as a 180-gram double LP that will be available in all territories. The sets are out March 14, and you can see the track list after the jump.

Joan Baez, Play Me Backwards: Expanded Edition (Proper Records, 2011)

  1. Play Me Backwards
  2. Amsterdam
  3. Isaac & Abraham
  4. Stones in the Road
  5. Steal Across the Border
  6. I’m with You
  7. I’m with You (Reprise)
  8. Strange Rivers
  9. Through Your Hands
  10. The Dream Song
  11. Edge of Glory
  12. Medicine Wheel (Demo)
  13. Rise from the Ruins (Demo)
  14. Trouble with the Truth (Demo)
  15. Much Better View of the Moon (Demo)
  16. Seven Curses (Demo)
  17. In My Day (Demo)
  18. Dark Eyed Man (Demo)
  19. We Endure (Demo)
  20. The Last Day (Demo)
  21. Lonely Moon (Demo)

Tracks 1-11 released as Virgin 86458-2, 1992. Tracks 12-21 previously unreleased.

Written by Mike Duquette

March 1, 2011 at 14:34

Posted in Joan Baez, News, Reissues, Vinyl

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] (1992) from Joan Baez in a 2CD Collector’s Edition, scheduling for April 4.  According to The Second Disc, who ran a feature piece on this reissue, this set will be “expanded with 10 previously […]

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: