The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

La-La Land Boards “Money Train”

leave a comment »

The newest scores to order from La-La Land are from films both old and new: Mark Mancina’s score to Money Train (1995) and Abel Korzenlowski’s soundtrack to Copernicus’ Star (2009).

Money Train was an action-comedy flick starring Wesley Snipes and Woody Harrelson as New York City two transit cops. The film was not a success, but is known for being one of the earliest mainstream appearances of Jennifer Lopez and its killer action score by Mark Mancina, who at the time was making quite a mark on the genre (the score was squeezed between his excellent soundtracks for Speed and Twister). This is the music’s first release, and will be presented in a 3,000 unit limited edition featuring liner notes by film music writer Daniel Schweiger.

The other film represented in the batch is Copernicus’ Star, a Polish animated feature about the life of Nicolaus Copernicus, the Dutch astronomer whose contribution to science – the definitive model of a solar system with the sun, not Earth, at its center – kickstarted a scientific revolution of unmatched magnitude. Korzenlowski, whose recent work includes the Golden Globe-nominated score to 2009’s A Single Man, composed this score, a solid, moving orchestral affair. This set will be limited to 1,000 copies.

Pre-order links and full track information are after the jump.

Mark Mancina, Money Train: Original Motion Picture Score (La-La Land Records LLLCD1162, 2011 – original film released 1995)

  1. Petty Theft
  2. Charlie Steals the Model
  3. Buddha Consciousness
  4. The Torch Strikes
  5. Hook’s Promise
  6. Love Hurts
  7. A Gift of 15 Grand/Charlie Loses the Money
  8. Round Two/ Love Betrayed
  9. The Torch Gets Ready/The Torch is Toast
  10. Get Out of My Life
  11. Brown’s Ultimatum
  12. Charlie Gets Ready/Charlie Grabs the Train
  13. Motorcycle Subway
  14. No Escape
  15. Breaking the Barrier
  16. I’ll Be There/The Brothers Fight/Money Train Wreck
  17. Keeping Cool

Abel Korzenlowski, Copernicus’ Star: Original Motion Picture Soundtrack (La-La Land Records LLLCD1165, 2011 – original film released 2009)

  1. Prologue
  2. To the Stars
  3. Prophecy
  4. Lands Far Away
  5. A Thief
  6. Breaking Free
  7. Aquarius
  8. Anna and Volder
  9. Ghosts
  10. Sour Apples
  11. The Hunting Dogs
  12. The Bull’s Eye
  13. Medic
  14. Snakes
  15. Forbidden Book
  16. The Philosopher’s Stone
  17. Faustus
  18. Jubilee
  19. He Who Stopped the Sun
  20. Scholars

All tracks on both discs previously unreleased.

Written by Mike Duquette

March 1, 2011 at 16:16

Posted in News, Reissues, Soundtracks

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: