The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

Iconoclassic Adds Three Titles to Reissue Slate (UPDATED)

with 6 comments

The Iconoclassic label kicks off their year in reissues with some exciting surprise expansions of some great ’70s and ’80s titles. The three titles, which have no street dates or official track lists as of yet, are nonetheless tantalizing.

The label has handled a good portion of expanding and remastering the catalogue of Canadian rockers The Guess Who; this campaign’s latest installment will see the reissue of Flavours (1975) for its 35th anniversary. The album, which included the last Guess Who Top 40 hit, “Dancin’ Fool,” will feature unreleased outtakes, new liner notes, and remastering by Vic Anesini.

Next up is a 30th anniversary edition of Raise!, the hit album by Earth, Wind and Fire which spawned a huge pop hit in “Let’s Groove” and the Grammy-winning “Wanna Be with You.” Several vinyl-only mixes will be included as bonus tracks.

And finally, another 30th anniversary edition, this time for the first Capitol album by The Tubes, The Completion Backward Principle. This was the band’s first album produced by David Foster, who’d put them on the path to success with “She’s a Beauty” later in the decade. Non-LP tracks, including singles and B-sides, will be included as bonus cuts.

Track lists and order links are now live over at the label’s Web site. Hit the jump to check ’em out!

Earth, Wind & Fire, Raise! 30th Anniversary Edition (Iconoclassic, 2011)

  1. Let’s Groove
  2. Lady Sun
  3. My Love
  4. Evolution Orange
  5. Kalimba Tree
  6. You Are a Winner
  7. Wanna Be with You
  8. The Changing Times
  9. Let’s Groove (Special Remixed Holiday Version)
  10. Kalimba Tree (Long Version)
  11. Let’s Groove (Instrumental)

Tracks 1-8 released as ARC LP TC 37548, 1981
Track 9 released as 12″ promo A-side – ARC AS 1342, 1981
Track 10 released as B-side to “Wanna Be with You” – ARC 18-02688, 1981
Track 11 released as single B-side – ARC 18-02536, 1981

The Tubes, The Completion Backward Principle: 30th Anniversary Edition (Iconoclassic, 2011)

  1. Talk to Ya Later
  2. Sushi Girl
  3. Amnesia
  4. Mr. Hate
  5. Attack of the Fifty Foot Woman
  6. Think About Me
  7. A Matter of Pride
  8. Don’t Want to Wait Anymore
  9. Power Tools
  10. Let’s Make Some Noise
  11. Tube Talk
  12. What’s Wrong with Me
  13. Gonna Get It Next Time
  14. Sports Fans

Tracks 1-10 released as Capitol LP SOO-12151, 1981
Tracks 11-12 released as B-sides to “Talk to Ya Later” – Capitol (U.K.) CL-201, 1981
Tracks 13-14 released as promotional single – Capitol P-B-5091, 1982

The Guess Who, Flavours: Expanded Edition (Iconoclassic, 2011)

  1. Dancin’ Fool
  2. Hoe Down Time
  3. Nobody Knows His Name
  4. Diggin’ Yourself
  5. Seems Like I Can’t Live with You, But I Can’t Live Without You
  6. Dirty
  7. Eye
  8. Loves Me Like a Brother
  9. Long Gone
  10. A Fool, A Fool, I Met a Fool
  11. Save a Smile
  12. Your Back Yard
  13. Roll with the Punches

Tracks 1-9 released as RCA LP CPL1-0636, 1974
Tracks 1o-13 are previously unreleased outtakes

Written by Mike Duquette

March 3, 2011 at 15:50

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Just when I was starting to wonder if Iconoclassic was still in business, since their website hadn’t been updated in a long time.

    Phil Cohen

    March 2, 2011 at 12:40

  2. And the EW&F is being mastered by Mark Wilder (who did a stellar job on past Sony/Legacy EW&F reissues) and Vic Anesini!

    Too bad Iconoclassic didn’t get their hands on “Faces” too. I hear BGO’s recent reissue on that wasn’t mastered by those gentlemen and sounds like it.


    March 2, 2011 at 15:58

  3. Definitely in for the Tubes. I hope the rest of their catalogue gets the same love.


    March 2, 2011 at 16:55

  4. Also, I’m guessing the “follow-up single” is Sports Fans. The video probably won’t be on YouTube for long because you can see Fee’s Waybill.

    (I’m so, so sorry.)


    March 2, 2011 at 16:56

  5. Tracklists for these 3 reissues are on our website, click More Info from each of the blurbs on the home page. Thanks for the interest!

    Iconoclassic Records

    March 3, 2011 at 13:29

  6. […] The Second Disc has revealed an upcoming slate of reissues coming from Iconoclassic Records that include a 30th Anniversary of Raise! (1981) from Earth, Wind, & Fire, an Expanded Edition of Flavours (1975) from The Guess Who, and a 30th Anniversary Edition of The Completion Backward Principle (1981) from The Tubes.  No release dates have been announced yet. […]

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: