The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

Florence and The Machine Expansion Coming to U.S. Shores

with one comment

If you’ve been waiting to pick up Lungs, the impressive debut album by Florence and The Machine, you now have a new incentive to buy it: an expanded edition is hitting U.S. shelves this month.

Lungs was a smash hit upon its release in the band’s native England in 2009; the album debuted at No. 2, held off only by The Essential Michael Jackson after the week of his passing. Sixty-two weeks later, the album still resides in the U.K. Top 40, and the album has since peaked within the Top 20 in the U.S., thanks to the hit “Dog Days Are Over,” featured in several commercials and in an impressive performance at the MTV Video Music Awards. (Lead singer Florence Welch, all of 24 years old, also took part in a tribute to Aretha Franklin at this year’s Grammy Awards.)

The album was expanded and repackaged as Between Two Lungs in the U.K. last November, adding new singles, remixes and a live EP as a bonus disc. On March 29, that package will come to American stores. If you’ve yet to get yourself a copy of the album, now may be the time to do so, what with all the extra content. You can pre-order it on Amazon and check out the track list after the jump.

Florence and The Machine, Between Two Lungs (Island 2753811 (U.K.), 2010 – released Universal Republic (U.S.), 2011)

Disc 1: Original LP (released as Island 1797940 (U.K.)/Universal Republic B0013170-02 (U.S.), 2009)

  1. Dog Days Are Over
  2. Rabbit Heart (Raise It Up)
  3. I’m Not Calling You a Liar
  4. Howl
  5. Kiss with a Fist
  6. Girl with One Eye
  7. Drumming Song
  8. Between Two Lungs
  9. Cosmic Love
  10. My Boy Builds Coffins
  11. Hurricane Drunk
  12. Blinding
  13. You Got the Love

Disc 2: Bonus disc

  1. Heavy in Your Arms
  2. You Got the Dirtee Love (with Dizzee Rascal)
  3. Hurricane Drunk (The Horrors Remix)
  4. Strangeness & Charm (Live from the Hammersmith Apollo)
  5. Swimming (Live from the Hammersmith Apollo)
  6. Dog Days Are Over (Yeasayer Remix)
  7. Drumming Song (Live @ the iTunes Festival, London – 7/13/2010)
  8. Girl with One Eye (Live @ the iTunes Festival, London – 7/13/2010)
  9. Hurricane Drunk (Live @ the iTunes Festival, London – 7/13/2010)
  10. Dog Days Are Over (Live @ the iTunes Festival, London – 7/13/2010)
  11. My Boy Builds Coffins (Live @ the iTunes Festival, London – 7/13/2010)
  12. Hospital Beds (Live @ the iTunes Festival, London – 7/13/2010)

Written by Mike Duquette

March 4, 2011 at 10:57

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. CANNOT WAIT!!!!

    Also, has anyone seen Adele’s performance on Letterman?


    March 6, 2011 at 04:18

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: