The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

Ella Goes to Japan in New Verve Select Release

with one comment

You got to love it when discoveries like these are made: Verve Select has delivered on their Twitter tease from last week with the announcement of a previously-unreleased set of Ella Fitzgerald in Japan.

‘S Wonderful: Ella in Japan showcases the First Lady of Song in rare form over two nights with the Roy Eldridge Quartet in Tokyo in 1964. There are some great bits of historical importance here, including Ella’s first recordings with pianist Tommy Flanagan and a jam session between the quartet and local Japanese musicians. So why weren’t they released? The answers look to be held within the set; Hip-O Select’s order page states that Norman Granz personally commissioned mixes of LPs for both American and Japanese markets but never released them. The set will include 24 pages of liner notes, including an essay by Marc Myers drawing upon interviews with surviving musicians on both sides of the Pacific and new research to bring the definitive history of these recordings to life. Rare photos and reprints of tour programs will be included as well.

10,000 copies of ‘S Wonderful will be made, and they can be ordered here now. Hit the jump for the track list!

Ella Fitzgerald, ‘S Wonderful: Ella in Japan (Verve Select, 2011)

Disc 1

  1. Cheek to Cheek
  2. Deep Purple
  3. Too Close for Comfort
  4. I Love Being Here with You
  5. Fly Me to the Moon (In Other Words)
  6. ‘S Wonderful
  7. I’ve Got You Under My Skin
  8. Hallelujah I Love Him So
  9. Misty
  10. Whatever Lola Wants
  11. Bill Bailey
  12. The Blues (Ella’s Blues)
  13. Round Midnight
  14. I Can’t Get Started With You
  15. Undecided
  16. Jam Session

Disc 2

  1. Cheek to Cheek
  2. Shiny Stockings
  3. Can’t Help Lovin’ Dat Man
  4. Bill Bailey
  5. Take the “A” Train
  6. Closing/A Tisket, A Tasket
  7. Ain’t Misbehavin’
  8. My Last Affair
  9. Perdido
  10. Closing/A Tisket, A Tasket

Written by Mike Duquette

March 28, 2011 at 15:26

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. FORTY BUCKS for two cds???? And then this will show up at iTunes a month later for half the price … Why do the record companies do this? Just makes no sense.


    March 28, 2011 at 15:39

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: