The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

Ozzy’s “Blizzard” and “Madman” LPs to Be Expanded in May (UPDATE 4/4)

with 8 comments

UPDATE 4/4: This isn’t particularly new, but in case anyone stumbled upon this post, there was some initial confusion as to the existence of bonus tracks on the Diary of a Madman set. Everything has now been properly edited.

Original post: Last year, Legacy promised to turn October into “Rocktober” with the reissues of Blizzard of Ozz and Diary of a Madman, the first two solo albums by Ozzy Osbourne. Those reissues were unsurprisingly well-received by fans, particularly following the revelation that both albums would be remastered with the original drum and bass tracks by Bob Daisley and Lee Kerslake. (Both were replaced by new tracks performed by Robert Trujilo of Metallica and Mike Bordin of Faith No More on CD reissues released in 2002.)

Unfortunately, those sets were put on the back burner before an official date was ever sent, and it was confirmed that they were instead slated for release at an undetermined date in 2011. Now, it finally looks like those packages might be coming out on May 31 – and there’s a bit more to look forward to than just the original mixes.

Blizzard of Ozz looks to be released as a single-disc expanded edition for its 30th anniversary (which, technically, was last year). In addition to the original mix of the album, three bonus tracks will be added: new remix of “Goodbye to Romance,” the non-LP B-side “You Looking at Me Looking at You” (released on U.K. pressings of the “Crazy Train” single and making its stateside debut) and an unreleased guitar solo by Ozzy’s late, great guitarist Randy Rhoads.

Meanwhile, Diary of a Madman will get the Legacy Edition treatment, adding an unreleased concert of Ozzy at New York’s Palladium in May 1981 (ironically, Madman seems to be the one celebrating 30 years!). And that’s not all! Vinyl reissues of each album are planned (keeping in line with Ozzy’s appointment as ambassador for Record Store Day), and they will also figure into a special box set that combines all the reissues on CD and vinyl alongside a new hardbound book and DVD documentary, Thirty Years After the Blizzard, featuring rare vintage footage of Osbourne and Rhoads along with new interviews with Ozzy and Sharon Osbourne, Lemmy Kilmister, Steve Vai, Nikki Sixx, Rob Halford and Zakk Wylde.

Pre-order pages exist for the CD and vinyl editions; all are expected for May 31. Read the track lists for each set after the jump.

Ozzy Osbourne, Blizzard of Ozz: 30th Anniversary Expanded Edition (Epic/Legacy 88697 73819-2, 2011)

  1. I Don’t Know
  2. Crazy Train
  3. Goodbye to Romance
  4. Dee
  5. Suicide Solution
  6. Mr. Crowley
  7. No Bone Movies
  8. Revelation (Mother Earth)
  9. Steal Away (The Night)
  10. You Looking at Me Looking at You
  11. Goodbye to Romance (2010 Guitar & Vocal Mix)
  12. RR (Randy Rhoads Guitar Solo)

Tracks 1-9 originally released as Jet Records JETLP 234 (U.K.)/JZ 36812 (U.S.), 1980)
Track 10 was the U.K. B-side to “Crazy Train” – Jet Records JET 197, 1980
Tracks 11-12 previously unreleased

Ozzy Osbourne, Diary of a Madman: Legacy Edition (Epic/Legacy 88697 86665-2, 2011)

Disc 1: Original LP (released as Jet Records JETLP 237 (U.K.)/FZ 37492 (U.S.), 1981)

  1. Over the Mountain
  2. Flying High Again
  3. You Can’t Kill Rock and Roll
  4. Believer
  5. Little Dolls
  6. Tonight
  7. S.A.T.O.
  8. Diary of a Madman

Disc 2: Ozzy Live at the Palladium, New York City – 5/2/1981

  1. I Don’t Know
  2. Crazy Train
  3. Believer
  4. Mr. Crowley
  5. Flying High Again
  6. Revelation (Mother Earth)
  7. Steal Away (The Night)
  8. Suicide Solution
  9. Iron Man
  10. Children of the Grave
  11. Paranoid

All tracks on Disc 2 previously unreleased

Written by Mike Duquette

April 4, 2011 at 12:45

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. About time! I am glad I held onto my 1995 Blizzard and Diary remasters because the 2002 editions were absolutely criminal! Not only were the drums and bass horribly out of sync, but the bass was also out of tune! The 2002 reissues represent the biggest artistic and business blunder ever for an artist to tarnish their own work of art for the sake of a lawsuit.

    It is nice to see the B side Looking at Me Looking At You included, but there are also other rarities like the rare Ep called Mr Crowley live which included another rare track called You Said It All. I hope this DVD is going to be a stand alone release as well and not just part of this specially planned boxset. I also hope disc 2 of Diary has unbelievable sound quality that is better than Tribute.


    March 18, 2011 at 19:06

    • I just read that the price of the boxset from Ozzy’s site will be $149.99. I think I might get this as well as the upcoming Alice Cooper set.

      But I also hope that the rest of Ozzy’s catalog gets reissued again. Bark At The Moon also suffered from the 2002 reissue treatment with some guitar solos cut out of the original version. Like Diary and Blizzard, I am glad I held onto my 1995 remaster of that album. It would also be nice to see The Ultimate Sin as well as Speak Of The Devil be reissued since they have been only available as an import since 2002.


      March 19, 2011 at 11:39

  2. Amazon no longer lists the 3 bonus tracks ( #’s 9, 10 & 11) on the Diary Of A Madman page. I really wanted to hear the extended outro solos on “Tonight” and “You Can’t Kill Rock And Roll”.

    The King

    March 19, 2011 at 19:58

    • I just saw that also. I found a news release that doesn’t list those 3 bonus tracks either. I would like to hear those extended solos too.


      March 19, 2011 at 21:11

    • It appears that these three tracks, Tonight (Long Version), You Can’t Kill Rock and Roll (Long Version), and Diary of a Madman (2010 Remix) have been removed from the US release of Diary of a Madman: Legacy Edition. Perhaps they will be available on the UK release. This is a huge drawback. Fans want to hear these extended cuts. Knowing that they exist but that we can’t have them is very disappointing, almost as disappointing as Sharon Osbourn’s decision to release Blizzard and Diary with new drum and bass recordings!
      Give us everything, we’re willing to pay for it, again and again and again.


      March 22, 2011 at 22:07

  3. This is total BS!!! I was going to purchase at least Diary, but now I will wait and see if iTunes will carry it and just get the live album.


    March 19, 2011 at 23:14

  4. I think readers of the post would love to read this interview I found with Bob Daisley about the 2002 reissues.

    Very informative. I hope he gets some compensation with the proper reissues.


    March 24, 2011 at 16:36

  5. I just found this on Youtube. It is Ozzy opening up the new boxset and this looks amazing. There are also other clips about the boxset featuring Rob Halford, Lemmy and Rudy Sarzo. Here is the link.


    May 18, 2011 at 16:41

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: