The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

Arcade Fire Goes Back to “The Suburbs”

leave a comment »

Canadian indie-rockers Arcade Fire have had a pretty successful year. Their third studio album, The Suburbs (2010), was a critical and commercial smash, topping the Billboard charts and netting them a Grammy for Album of the Year. And while their victory may have turned some heads, it was well-deserved; The Suburbs is an appealing, sprawling rock epic the likes of which are all too rare these days.

In case you missed it the first time around, the band is set to re-release the record on June 27 with a bit of extra content. Besides two previously-unreleased tracks (as announced by BBC Radio 1 DJ Zane Lowe earlier today), the set will be expanded with a DVD featuring Scenes from the Suburbs, a short film based around the album directed by Spike Jonze, as well as a making-of documentary.

There’s no pre-order links gone live yet, but check out the track list after the jump.

Arcade Fire, The Suburbs: Deluxe Edition (Merge Records, 2011)

Disc 1: CD (originally released as Merge Records MRG385, 2010)

  1. The Suburbs
  2. Ready to Start
  3. Modern Man
  4. Rococo
  5. Empty Room
  6. City with No Children
  7. Half Light I
  8. Half Light II (No Celebration)
  9. Suburban War
  10. Month of May
  11. Wasted Hours
  12. Deep Blue
  13. We Used to Wait
  14. Sprawl I (Flatland)
  15. Sprawl II (Mountains Beyond Mountains)
  16. The Suburbs (Continued)
  17. Speaking in Tongues
  18. Culture War
Disc 2: DVD
  1. Scenes from the Suburbs (short film directed by Spike Jonze)
  2. Making-of documentary
Disc 1, Tracks 17-18 previously unreleased

Written by Mike Duquette

April 18, 2011 at 17:43

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: