The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

Short Takes: Cars on Friday, INXS Live Show and Howard Jones Tidbits

with 3 comments

  • Our friends at Friday Music have found a great way to celebrate the reunion of The Cars: a reissue of one of their albums! A straight reissue of the group’s final album for Elektra, 1987’s Door to Door, remastered by the label’s own Joe Reagoso, will be available May 10, the same day as the band’s brand-new studio album, Move Like This.
  • In honor of the impending royal wedding of Prince William and Kate Middleton, INXS have released a digital album of their 1985 concert performed in honor of a visit to Australia by William’s parents, Prince Charles and Princess Diana. Rocking the Royals: Live 1985, recorded on the eve of the band’s Listen Like Thieves tour, has been released through iTunes in Australia, New Zealand and Mexico; further releases worldwide are forthcoming. (Thanks to Slicing Up Eyeballs for the tip!)
  • Those who are digging the new Howard Jones remaster box have some more bits here and there to be excited about. Jones has released another vintage remix – the U.K. 12″ version of “Look Mama” – as a free download on his Facebook page, and is spearheading ReWork, a new remix project for his catalogue. Fans can click the link in the preceding sentence and get access to the multitrack stems of “Automaton,” from the Dream Into Action LP. Jones will be listening to the remixes of fans for potential inclusion on a future compilation. If you’re handy with a remix, this might be your chance!
The track lists for The Cars’ Door to Door and the INXS live set are after the jump.
The Cars, Door to Door (Elektra 60747-1, 1987 – reissued Friday Music, 2011)
  1. Leave or Stay
  2. You Are the Girl
  3. Double Trouble
  4. Fine Line
  5. Everything You Say
  6. Ta Ta Wayo Wayo
  7. Strap Me In
  8. Coming Up You
  9. Wound Up on You
  10. Go Away
  11. Door to Door
INXS, Rocking the Royals: Live 1985 (Petrol Electric, 2011)
  1. Burn for You
  2. Kiss the Dirt
  3. Dancing on the Jetty
  4. The One Thing
  5. This Time
  6. Shine Like It Does
  7. Listen Like Thieves
  8. What You Need
  9. One X One
  10. Original Sin
  11. Don’t Change
  12. The Farriss Brothers Remember (commentary)
Tracks 1 and 3 previously released on “This Time” U.K. 12″ single (Mercury INXS 512, 1986)
Tracks 4 and 8 previously released on “What You Need” U.K. 12″ single (Mercury INXS 412, 1986)

Written by Mike Duquette

April 20, 2011 at 13:02

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I absolutely love the thoroughly 80s vibe of this post.


    April 20, 2011 at 14:20

  2. The Cars are about due for a catalogue upgrade.

    Charlie Sheen

    April 20, 2011 at 20:43

  3. There was an online article in March 2009 about Ric’s art exhibit debut. During that he said they were working on a 25th Anniversary edition of Heartbeat City that was to include bonus unreleased tracks including 2 sung by Ben. It was due later that year. Wonder whatever happened to that? Though given the choice, I’d rather have the new music. But would love to hear those songs from Ben!


    April 21, 2011 at 01:08

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: