The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

Long Live Rock and Roll! Dio Compilation Due in U.K. This May

with 2 comments

Ronnie James Dio passed away in 2010, but his spirit has lived on rather nicely in the world of reissues. In recent years, Universal in the U.K. has released expansive deluxe editions of the vocalist’s work with Black Sabbath and Rainbow, not to mention a few archival releases through his own estate’s Niji Entertainment Group. Now, Universal Music Catalogue will add another compilation to the mix for U.K. fans – one which covers, in two discs, all of the artist’s major-label acts.

Mightier Than the Sword: The Ronnie James Dio Story, collects tracks from virtually every band Dio ever fronted, from Elf and Ritchie Blackmore’s Rainbow to Black Sabbath, Dio and Heaven and Hell (the reformed Dio-led lineup of Black Sabbath that performed in the late 2000s). There’s even a track from the lesser-known solo project by ex-Deep Purple bassist Roger Glover, released in 1974.

Expect the set in U.K. shops on May 30 and a week later in the States. A full track list and order link follows after the jump.

Various Artists, Mightier Than the Sword: The Ronnie James Dio Story (Sanctuary/UMC (U.K.), 2011)

Disc 1

  1. Carolina County Ball – Elf
  2. Love is All – Roger Glover featuring Ronnie James Dio
  3. The Temple of the King – Rainbow
  4. Catch the Rainbow – Rainbow
  5. Stargazer – Rainbow
  6. Run with the Wolf – Rainbow
  7. Kill the King – Rainbow
  8. Long Live Rock ‘N’ Roll – Rainbow
  9. Lady of the Lake – Rainbow
  10. Gates of Babylon – Rainbow
  11. Die Young – Black Sabbath
  12. Heaven and Hell – Black Sabbath
  13. Children of the Sea – Black Sabbath
Disc 2
  1. The Mob Rules – Black Sabbath
  2. Voodoo – Black Sabbath
  3. Country Girl – Black Sabbath
  4. Holy Diver – Dio
  5. Rainbow in the Dark – Dio
  6. We Rock – Dio
  7. Rock ‘N’ Roll Children – Dio
  8. All the Fools Sailed Away – Dio
  9. I – Black Sabbath
  10. Push – Dio
  11. One More for the Road – Dio
  12. Shadow of the Wind – Black Sabbath
  13. Neon Knights – Heaven & Hell
  14. Bible Black – Heaven & Hell
Disc 1, Track 1 from Carolina County Ball (Purple (U.K.)/MGM (U.S.), 1974)
Disc 1, Track 2 from The Butterfly Ball and the Grasshopper’s Feast (Purple (U.K.), 1974)
Disc 1, Tracks 3-4 from Ritchie Blackmore’s Rainbow (Oyster (U.K.)/Polydor (U.S.), 1975)
Disc 1, Tracks 5-6 from Rising (Oyster (U.K.)/Polydor (U.S.), 1976)
Disc 1, Tracks 7-10 from Long Live Rock ‘N’ Roll (Polydor (U.K./U.S.), 1978)
Disc 1, Tracks 11-13 from Heaven and Hell (Vertigo (U.K.)/Warner Bros. (U.S.), 1980)
Disc 2, Tracks 1-3 from The Mob Rules (Vertigo (U.K.)/Warner Bros. (U.S.), 1981)
Disc 2, Tracks 4-5 from Holy Diver (Vertigo (U.K.)/Warner Bros. (U.S.), 1983)
Disc 2, Tracks 6 from The Last in Line (Vertigo (U.K.)/Warner Bros. (U.S.), 1984)
Disc 2, Track 7 from Sacred Heart (Vertigo (U.K.)/Warner Bros. (U.S.), 1985)
Disc 2, Track 8 from Dream Evil (Vertigo (U.K.)/Warner Bros. (U.S.), 1987)
Disc 2, Track 9 from Dehumanizer (I.R.S. (U.K.)/Reprise (U.S.), 1992)
Disc 2, Track 10 from Killing the Dragon (Spitfire (U.K./U.S.), 2002)
Disc 2, Track 11 from Master of the Moon (Sanctuary (U.S.), 2004)
Disc 2, Track 12 from Black Sabbath: The Dio Years (Warner Bros./Rhino (U.K./U.S.), 2007)
Disc 2, Tracks 13-14 from The Devil You Know (Roadrunner (U.K.)/Rhino (U.S.), 2009)

Written by Mike Duquette

May 4, 2011 at 18:23

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This looks like a good collection but to be honest, I think Dio is worth a 4 CD boxset collection. I would have included a few more Rainbow and Sabbath songs as well as some obscure gems like a song called To Live For The King from Kansas guitarist Kerry Livgren’s album as Sitting In A Dream from the Butterfly Ball. As for his solo years, there is a song called Time To Burn and Hide In The Rainbow as well as the single edit of I Could Have Been A Dreamer. But yet again another pre-order at Amazon for me!


    May 4, 2011 at 18:58

  2. He also did some vocals on Queensryche’s OM2 album.

    I wish I could find a reason to buy this but, with the exception of the first two songs, I already have them all.

    Talk about missing the boat…. no previously unreleased material.

    Bill B

    May 5, 2011 at 12:26

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: