The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

Weekend News Round-Up: Doobies, Peter Gabriel, Stax and Kansas

with one comment

It was such a busy week that reporting has spilled over into the weekend! Enjoy these tidbits from around the rest of the catalogue music world.

  • Eagle Rock is releasing a vintage live CD/DVD by The Doobie Brothers, from their 1982 farewell tour. Live at the Greek 1982 sees a lineup that included sole original member Patrick Simmons on guitar, longtime co-drummer Keith Knudsen (who shared the kit with Chet McCracken, a member since 1980’s One Step Closer), guitarist/violinist John McFee, percussionist Bobby LaKind, sax/keyboard player Cornelius Bumpus, legendary session bassist Willie Weeks and the one and only Michael McDonald leading the band. Founding vocalist Tom Johnston sings guest lead on the penultimate song in the set, the always-great “China Grove,” and finale “Listen to the Music” features a few more classic Doobies, including original drummer John Hartman, bassist Tiran Porter and drummer Michael Hossack. Sixteen tracks feature on the DVD; the CD omits one track (McDonald’s soon-to-be-hit “I Keep Forgettin'”) but adds four more bonus cuts. The set’s out on June 28 and you can get the full breakdown from the always-great MusicTAP.
  • Yesterday, in two sentences, Peter Gabriel’s website likely got fans to break out their copies of So – released 25 years ago yesterday – and speculate on when the promised “celebratory release” would hit shelves and what might be on it. (We’ve speculated too, naturally.)
  • A little while ago we’d posted that there was a new series of Stax remasters coming from Concord Music Group, who owns the venerable label’s catalogue. Those albums are coming out on Tuesday, and there’s two things to note: one, that full track lists are after the jump on this post, and two, that our friends at Popdose are holding a contest through Tuesday to win these three reissues! What’s not to like about that?
  • I always feel remiss about not giving more attention to Rock Candy Records, a U.K. label specializing in pretty well-done reissues and expansions of hard rock titles. Their latest releases, set for May 25, are remastered editions of Kansas’ final albums for Kirshner/Epic, Vinyl Confessions (1982) and Drastic Measures (1983). These albums saw the band in transition; guitarist/keyboardist Kerry Livgren and bassist Dave Hope had both become born-again Christians, and vocalist Steve Walsh had left the group, replaced by Jon Elefante. The albums – the first of which spawned a Top 20 hit in “Play the Game Tonight” – were remastered with the rest of the band’s Sony-controlled back catalogue by Legacy Recordings in 1996, but those have since fallen out of print, making these sets worth it if you’re a fan who missed these the last time around. Amazon U.K. links are after the jump as well.

Booker T. & The MG’s, McLemore Avenue: The Stax Remasters (Stax/Concord STX-32874-02, 2011)
  1. Medley: Golden Slumbers/Carry That Weight/The End/Here Comes the Sun/Come Together
  2. Something
  3. Medley: Because/You Never Give Me Your Money
  4. Medley: Sun King/Mean Mr. Mustard/Polythene Pam/She Came in Through the Bathroom Window/I Want You (She’s So Heavy)
  5. You Can’t Do That
  6. Day Tripper
  7. Michelle
  8. Eleanor Rigby
  9. Lady Madonna
  10. You Can’t Do That
Tracks 1-4 released as Stax LP STS-2027, 1969
Tracks 5-6 from Booker T. & The MG’s Play the “Hip Hits” – Stax/Ace CDSXD 065 (U.K.), 1993
Tracks 7 and 9 from The Booker T. Set – Stax STS-2009, 1969
Track 8 from Soul Limbo – Stax STS-2001, 1968
Track 10 previously unreleased
The Staple Singers, Be Altitude: Respect Yourself: The Stax Remasters (Stax/Concord STX-32876-02, 2011)
  1. This World
  2. Respect Yourself
  3. Name the Missing Word
  4. I’ll Take You There
  5. This Old Town (People in This Town)
  6. We the People
  7. Are You Sure
  8. Who Do You Think You Are (Jesus Christ Superstar)?
  9. I’m Just Another Soldier
  10. Who
  11. Walking in Water Over Our Head
  12. Heavy Makes You Happy (Alternate)
Tracks 1-10 from Stax LP STS-3002, 1971
Track 11 previously unreleased
Track 12 possibly from Music from the Wattstax Festival and Film – Stax/Ace 3SCD 4440 (U.K.), 2003
Johnny Taylor, Taylored in Silk: The Stax Remasters (Stax/Concord STX-32875-02, 2011)
  1. We’re Getting Careless with Our Love
  2. Starting All Over Again
  3. Cheaper to Keep Her
  4. Talk to Me
  5. I Believe in You (You Believe in Me)
  6. One Thing Wrong with My Baby
  7. I Can Read Between the Lines
  8. This Bitter Earth
  9. Hijackin’ Love
  10. Love in the Streets (Ain’t as Good as Love at Home)
  11. Standing in for Jody
  12. Shackin’ Up
  13. Doin’ My Own Thing, Pt. 1
  14. Doin’ My Own Thing, Pt. 2
Tracks 1-8 released as Stax LP STS-3014, 1973
Tracks 9-10 released as Stax single STA-0096, 1971
Tracks 11-12 released as Stax single STA-0114, 1972
Tracks 13-14 released as Stax single STA-0122, 1972
Kansas, Vinyl Confessions (originally released as Kirshner FZ 38002, 1982 – reissued Rock Candy Records CANDY095, 2011)
  1. Play the Game Tonight
  2. Right Away
  3. Fair Exchange
  4. Chasing Shadows
  5. Diamonds and Pearls
  6. Face It
  7. Windows
  8. Borderline
  9. Play On
  10. Crossfire
Kansas, Drastic Measures (originally released as CBS Associated QZ 38733, 1984 – reissued Rock Candy Records CANDY096, 2011)
  1. Fight Fire with Fire
  2. Everybody’s My Friend
  3. Mainstream
  4. Andi
  5. Going Through the Motions
  6. Get Rich
  7. Don’t Take Your Love Away
  8. End of the Age
  9. Incident on a Bridge

Written by Mike Duquette

May 7, 2011 at 15:10

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’m intrigued (and feeling really OLD) thinking about the 25th anniversary edition of So. I hope there’s some great stuff that’ll be on it.

    I have no particular thoughts, other than that extended remix of “In Your Eyes” that used to get a lot of radio play once upon time and, AFAIK, has never been released on a CD.


    May 8, 2011 at 09:37

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: