The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

UMe Declares WAR

with one comment

You probably knew this already, based on the presence of an ICON title for the legendary funk group WAR, but Universal Music Enterprises has acquired the rights to their back catalogue. And it looks like they may be gearing up to do some stuff with it.

The label issued a press release last week in honor of the band’s 40th anniversary year, detailing a few notable bits of info about the band’s plans to celebrate. While the band will be touring and working on a new album – their first since 1994’s Peace Sign – of interest to catalogue fans is the digital debut of three WAR albums – 1979’s The Music Band and The Music Band 2, originally released by MCA, and 1997’s Colección Latina compilation, released on Avenue Records, which previously controlled the band’s back catalogue (through distribution by Rhino).

Also, anyone who likes WAR’s new official Facebook page before May 10 gets a free download of the track “War is Coming! War is Coming!” from the group’s 1977 album Platinum Jazz.

Of course, we’ll report if any more WAR catalogue releases or expansions are in the pipeline. Hit the jump for the track lists and U.S. iTunes links for the newly-digitized albums.

WAR, The Music Band (originally released as MCA Records 3085, 1979)

  1. The Music Band
  2. Corns and Callouses (Hey Dr. Shoals)
  3. I’m the One Who Understands
  4. Good, Good Feelin’ (Original Un-Cut Disco Mix)
  5. Millionaire
  6. All Around the World
WAR, The Music Band 2 (originally released as MCA Records 3193, 1979)
  1. Don’t Take It Away
  2. I’ll Be Around
  3. I’ll Take Care of You
  4. Night People
  5. The World is a Ghetto (Special All New Instrumental Version)
  6. The Music Band 2 (We Are the Music Band)
WAR, Colección Latina (originally released as Avenue Records R2 72866, 1997)
  1. Low Rider (Español) (Fantasma Mix)
  2. East L.A. (Remix con José Feliciano)
  3. All Day Music
  4. Me and Baby Brother
  5. Smile Happy
  6. The Cisco Kid
  7. Gypsy Man
  8. Hey Señorita
  9. Angel (Mix en Español)
  10. Ballero
  11. Don’t Let No One Get You Down (Con La Colaboración de Hispanic MC’s)
  12. Cinco de Mayo
  13. Salsa
  14. Low Rider (Mijangos Progressive Mix)

Written by Mike Duquette

May 9, 2011 at 11:14

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. If experience from UMe’s previous remasters are any indication (especially their post-ABKCO Rolling Stones 2009 ones), these ones are probably going to be brickwalled sky-high.

    Victor Dang

    May 9, 2011 at 12:11

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: