The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

What the Franke? Friday Music Prepares for a Knockout

with one comment

If you’re a voracious reader of pop liner notes, there’s a good chance you might have come across the name Franke Previte. If not, you’re about to have a chance to reconnect with the man and his music.

Previte was the lead singer of Franke & The Knockouts, a New Jersey band whose best-known song, “Sweetheart,” went to No. 10 in 1981. Of course, like so many other bands, they’re probably best known for what they did after splitting up; the band’s second drummer, Tico Torres, went on to sit behind a drum kit for another Jersey band named Bon Jovi. And Previte, who co-wrote “Sweetheart” with guitarist Billy Elworthy, went on to write two massive hits for the Dirty Dancing soundtrack in 1987. “(I’ve Had) The Time of My Life,” performed by Bill Medley and Jennifer Warnes, and “Hungry Eyes,” sung by Eric Carmen, were both co-written by Previte and dominated the airwaves that year. “Hungry Eyes” hit No. 4 in the U.S., while “Time of My Life” topped the charts and won an Oscar.

To commemorate the three decades since “Sweetheart” peaked on the Billboard charts, Friday Music is working on the band’s catalogue, releasing all three of The Knockouts’ LPs in digital format. They’re also releasing a new CD compilation of their hit singles, augmented by two bonus tracks, the original demo of “Hungry Eyes” (which was digitally reissued last year) and another bonus track apparently written and recorded for the forgotten sequel, 2004’s Dirty Dancing: Havana Nights. And best of all, for the charitably-minded, Previte is donating proceeds from the compilation to the Patrick Swayze Pancreas Cancer Research Fund at Stanford Cancer Center.

All titles are out next Tuesday, May 24. Hit the jump for a look at the track list for the new compilation!

Franke & The Knockouts, The Best of Franke & The Knockouts (Friday Music, 2011)

  1. Sweetheart
  2. She’s a Runner
  3. Runnin’ Into the Night
  4. Come Back
  5. You’re My Girl
  6. One for All
  7. Annie Goes Hollywood
  8. Never Had It Better
  9. Without You (Not Another Lonely Night)
  10. Just What I Want
  11. Morning Sun (Dream On)
  12. You Don’t Want Me (Like I Want You)
  13. Outrageous
  14. Come Rain or Shine
  15. You’re All That Really Matters
  16. One Good Reason
  17. Blame It on My Heart
  18. Hungry Eyes (Original Demo)
  19. Beat of a Broken Heart
Tracks 1-7 from Franke & The Knockouts (Millennium, 1981)
Tracks 8-11 from Below the Belt (Millennium, 1982)
Tracks 12-17 from Makin’ the Point (MCA, 1984)
Track 18 previously released on The Sweetheart Collection (Razor & Tie, 1999)
Track 19 previously unreleased

Written by Mike Duquette

May 19, 2011 at 10:56

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Looks like a nice collection. It seems to have nearly every track from the long OOP “Sweetheart Collection”, and a few extras.


    May 20, 2011 at 09:59

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: