The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

Cherry Red Has Ace in Their Hand

leave a comment »

Some time ago, we reported on Cherry Red’s new reissue of an Ace compilation and subsequent intention to reissue all of the band’s back catalogue later in the year. Now, the U.K. reissue label has revealed their titles for June, and all three Ace LPs  are slated for release this summer, each greatly expanded with bonus material.

The Sheffield pub-rockers – best known, of course, for the U.S. Top 5 hit “How Long” and the kickstarting of vocalist Paul Carrack’s career (he’d later join Roxy Music, Squeeze and Mike + The Mechanics) – recorded three albums for Anchor Records between 1974 and 1977; Five-a-Side, Time for Another and No Strings will all be released by the label. The first album will be augmented with a bonus disc comprised of BBC sessions with John Peel and Bob Harris and one rare studio bonus track from a Japanese reissue in 2004. The last two will be packaged together with a third disc of additional live material licensed from the BBC, including another Peel session and two In Concert airings.

All in all, it looks like a pretty great way to sum up the band’s catalogue. All the titles will be out on June 20 in the U.K. and can be ordered at Cherry Red’s website now. Hit the jump to see how long the track lists are!

Ace, Five-a-Side: Deluxe Edition (Cherry Red CDBRED493 (U.K.), 2011)

Disc 1: Original LP (originally released as Anchor ANCL-2001 (U.K.), 1974)

  1. Sniffin’ About
  2. Rock & Roll Runaway
  3. How Long
  4. The Real Feeling
  5. 24 Hours
  6. Why?
  7. Time Ain’t Long
  8. Know How It Feels
  9. Satellite
  10. So Sorry Baby

Disc 2: Bonus material

  1. Tastes Like a Fish
  2. 24 Hours (John Peel Session – 11/12/1974)
  3. I Ain’t Gonna Stand for This No More (John Peel Session – 11/12/1974)
  4. Rock & Roll Runaway (John Peel Session – 11/12/1974)
  5. I Know How It Feels (John Peel Session – 11/12/1974)
  6. Why (Bob Harris Session – 12/2/1974)
  7. How Long (Bob Harris Session – 12/2/1974)
  8. I Know How It Feels (Bob Harris Session – 12/2/1974)
  9. Satellite (Bob Harris Session – 12/2/1974)

All tracks previously unreleased except Disc 2, Track 1 from a different reissue (Cool Sounds 1081 (JP), 2004)

Ace, Time for Another / No Strings: Deluxe Edition (Cherry Red CDTRED494 (U.K.), 2011)

Disc 1: Time for Another (originally released as Anchor ANCL-2013 (U.K.), 1975)

  1. I Think It’s Gonna Last
  2. I’m a Man
  3. Tongue Tied
  4. Does It Hurt You
  5. Message to You
  6. No Future in Your Eyes
  7. This is What You Find
  8. You Can’t Lose
  9. Sail On My Brother
  10. I Ain’t Gonna Stand for This No More

Disc 2: No Strings (originally released as Anchor ANCL-2020, 1977)

  1. Rock and Roll Singer
  2. You’re All That I Need
  3. Crazy World
  4. I’m Not Takin’ It Out on You
  5. Movin’
  6. Gleaming in the Gloom
  7. Let’s Hang On
  8. Why Did You Leave Me
  9. Found Out the Hard Way
  10. C’est La Vie

Disc 3: At the BBC (all tracks previously unreleased)

  1. Sail On My Brother (John Peel Session – 3/31/1975)
  2. Get Ready (John Peel Session – 3/31/1975)
  3. Ain’t That Peculiar (John Peel Session – 3/31/1975)
  4. I Ain’t Gonna Stand for This No More (John Peel Session – 3/31/1975)
  5. I Ain’t Gonna Stand for This No More (BBC in Concert – 1/4/1975)
  6. The Real Feeling (BBC in Concert – 1/4/1975)
  7. 24 Hours (BBC in Concert – 1/4/1975)
  8. I Know How It Feels (BBC in Concert – 1/4/1975)
  9. How Long (BBC in Concert – 1/4/1975)
  10. Ain’t That Peculiar (BBC in Concert – 1/4/1975)
  11. Sniffin’ About (BBC in Concert – 1/8/1976)
  12. I Think It’s Gonna Last (BBC in Concert – 1/8/1976)
  13. Sail On My Brother (BBC in Concert – 1/8/1976)
  14. This is What You Find (BBC in Concert – 1/8/1976)
  15. I’m a Man (BBC in Concert – 1/8/1976)

Written by Mike Duquette

May 25, 2011 at 14:29

Posted in Ace, News, Reissues

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: