The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

La-La Land Bows Basil and Baxter Archival Releases

leave a comment »

La-La Land Records has a great slate of archival soundtrack titles up for order today.

First up is a big one: the score to Breakdown, a 1997 thriller written and directed by Jonathan Mostow (who would later become a moderately successful action director with films like U-571 (2000), Terminator 3: Rise of the Machines (2003) and Surrogates (2009)). It starred Kurt Russell as a husband whose wife is abducted in a small midwestern town en route to California. The score, previously , was composed by Basil Pouledoris (the late composer noted for such scores as Conan the Barbarian (1982), RoboCop (1987), Lonesome Dove (1989) and Starship Troopers (1997)) and has been a hotly-requested title. Fortunately, La-La Land came through in spades! The three-disc set features not only the final, revised film score on one disc, but two discs of alternate cues leading up to the taut action score audiences enjoyed.

There’s also a fun two-fer from Les Baxter, whose work has been represented greatly on CD this year (one other title announced this week alone). The surviving elements to his scores to the Roger Corman flicks “X”: The Man with the X-Ray Eyes and the “Morella” segment of the Poe compilation Tales of Terror are presented on one disc for a haunting good listen.

Breakdown is limited to 3,000 copies and can be ordered here, while the Baxter set tops out at 1,200 units and can be ordered here. View the track lists after the jump!

Basil Pouledoris, Breakdown: Original Motion Picture Score (La-La Land Records LLLCD 1173, 2011 – original film released 1997)

Disc 1: Final Revised Film Score

  1. Main Titles
  2. Gas Station/Leaving Belle’s
  3. Earl’s Truck By/Photos/No Help
  4. Route 7-North (composed by Richard Marvin (65%) and Basil Poledouris (35%))
  5. Deep Wacko/Heist Explained
  6. The Bank (composed by Richard Marvin (56%) and Basil Poledouris (44%))
  7. Bringing Money to Earl*/Jeff in the Truck**/Jeff Stabs Earl/Cop Pursues
  8. Earl and Cop Shot*/Speeding Truck Climb**
  9. In the Freezer
  10. Jeff Sneaks Into House/Deke Freeze/Car Chase
  11. Truck Ramming*/Climb the Truck*/The Truck Falls**
  12. End Credits

For Disc 1, Track 7 – * Composed by Steve Forman and Judd Miller ** Composed by Eric Colvin
For Disc 1, Track 8 * Composed by Basil Poledouris and Eric Colvin ** Composed by Eric Colvin (54%) and Judd Miller (29%) and Richard Marvin (17%)
For Disc 1, Track 11 – * Composed by Richard Marvin ** Composed by Richard Marvin (50%) and Basil Poledouris (50%)

Disc 2: Alternate Early Film Score

  1. Main Titles
  2. Earl’s Truck By/Leaving Belle’s
  3. No Help
  4. Photos
  5. Route 7-North
  6. Deep Wacko
  7. Heist Explained
  8. The Bank/Bringing Money to Earl
  9. Jeff in the Truck/Jeff Stabs Earl
  10. Cop Pursues
  11. Earl and Cop Shot
  12. Speeding Truck Climb
  13. In the Freezer/Deke Freeze /Car Chase
  14. Truck Ramming

Disc 3: Alternates

  1. Photos (Early Alternate)
  2. Route 7-North (Original Revised Composition)
  3. Three Deep Wackos (Three Alternates)
  4. The Bank (Early Alternate)
  5. Earl and Cop Shot/Truck Climb (Original Revised Composition)
  6. In the Freezer (Early Alternate)
  7. Deke Freeze/Car Chase (Original Revised Composition)
  8. Truck Ramming/Climb the Truck/The Truck Falls (Original Revised Composition)
  9. Earl and Cop Shot (Alternate Overlay)
  10. The Bank/Route 7-North (Alternate Segments)

Les Baxter, “X” The Man with the X-Ray Eyes / Tales of Terror “Morella”: Limited Edition (La-La Land Records LLLCD 1174, 2011 – original films released 1963/1962)

  1. End Title (Extended)
  2. Penthouse
  3. Fast Twist
  4. Nude Twist
  5. Casino Lounge
  6. Posh
  7. Desert Chase/Helicopter Pursuit/Wreck/Stagger
  8. Pluck It Out/End Credits (Film Version)
  9. The Corpse and The Ghost
  10. Lenora/Morella/Fire & Smoke/Eerie House
  11. End Credits
  12. X Main Title (with sound effects)
  13. Las Vegas Lights (with sound effects)
  14. Organ Interlude
  15. Outtake Suite

Tracks 1-8 and 12-15 from “X” the Man with the X-Ray Eyes
Tracks 9-11 from Tales of Terror: “Morella”

Written by Mike Duquette

June 7, 2011 at 17:14

Posted in News, Reissues, Soundtracks

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: