The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

All Eyez on Him: Tupac Catalogue Gets Digital Reissue for Rapper’s 40th Birthday

with one comment

He would have turned 40 this year – as of last week, in fact. His death nearly 15 years ago is still one of rap’s greatest unsolved murders (and is still a hot topic). Now, Universal is digitally releasing five albums by Tupac Shakur this summer – their debuts in the digital realm.

2Pacalypse Now (1991), Strictly 4 My N.I.G.G.A.Z. (1993), his sole, self-titled album with the Thug Life collective (1994), Me Against the World (1995) and the posthumous R U Still Down? (Remember Me) (1997) will each get straight digital reissues next month. It’s uncertain whether there’s any more catalogue action to be had from the Tupac camp; the artist has had six posthumous compilations to his name, as many albums as he worked on in his lifetime (the sixth album, Don Kiluminati: The 7 Day Theory – attributed to the pseudonym “Makaveli” – was completed by Shakur but not released until months after his death). But the news release conspicuously notes the 20th anniversary of debut 2Pacalypse Now, so it’s not outside the realm of possiblity.

In the meantime, each album after the jump will be available from all digital providers on July 5.

2Pac, 2pacalypse Now (originally released as Interscope 91767-2, 1991 – digitally reissued Interscope/UMe, 2011)

  1. Young Black Male
  2. Trapped (feat. Shock G)
  3. Soulja’s Story
  4. I Don’t Give a Fuck (feat. Pogo)
  5. Violent
  6. Words of Wisdom
  7. Something Wicked (feat. Pee-Wee)
  8. Crooked Ass Nigga (feat. Stretch)
  9. If My Homie Calls
  10. Brenda’s Got a Baby (feat. Dave Hollister)
  11. Tha’ Lunatic (feat. Stretch)
  12. Rebel of the Underground (feat. Ray Luv and Shock G)
  13. Part Time Mutha (feat. Angelique and Poppi)

2Pac, Strictly 4 My N.I.G.G.A.Z. (originally released as Interscope 92209-2, 1993 – digitally reissued Interscope/UMe, 2011)

  1. Holler If Ya Hear Me
  2. Pac’s Theme (Interlude)
  3. Point the Finga
  4. Something 2 Die 4 (Interlude)
  5. Last Wordz (feat. Ice Cube and Ice-T)
  6. Souljah’s Revenge
  7. Peep Game (feat. Deadly Threat)
  8. Strugglin’ (feat. Live Squad)
  9. Guess Who’s Back
  10. Representin’ 93
  11. Keep Ya Head Up
  12. Strictly 4 My N.I.G.G.A.Z…
  13. The Streetz R Deathrow
  14. I Get Around (feat. Digital Underground)
  15. Papa’z Song (feat. Wycked and Poppi)
  16. 5 Deadly Venomz (feat. Treach, Apache and Live Squad)

Thug Life, Thug Life Volume 1 (originally released as Interscope 92360-2, 1994 – digitally reissued Interscope/UMe, 2011)

  1. Bury Me a G
  2. Don’t Get It Twisted
  3. Shit Don’t Stop
  4. Pour Out a Little Liquor
  5. Stay True
  6. How Long Will They Mourn Me?
  7. Under Pressure
  8. Street Fame
  9. Cradle to the Grave
  10. Str8 Ballin’

2Pac, Me Against the World (originally released as Interscope 92399-2, 1995 – digitally reissued Interscope/UMe, 2011)

  1. Intro
  2. If I Die 2Nite
  3. Me Against the World (feat. Dramacydal)
  4. So Many Tears
  5. Temptations
  6. Young Niggaz
  7. Heavy in the Game (feat. Lady Levi and Richie Rich)
  8. Lord Knows
  9. Dear Mama
  10. It Ain’t Easy
  11. Can U Get Away
  12. Old School
  13. Fuck the World
  14. Death Around the Corner
  15. Outlaw (feat. Dramacydal)

2Pac, R U Still Down? (Remember Me) (originally released as Amaru/Jive 01241-41628-2, 1997 – digitally reissued Interscope/UMe, 2011)

Disc 1

  1. Redemption (Intro)
  2. Open Fire
  3. R U Still Down? (Remember Me)
  4. Hellrazor (feat. Stretch and Val Young)
  5. Thug Style
  6. Where Do We Go from Here (Interlude)
  7. I Wonder If Heaven Got a Ghetto
  8. Nothin’ to Lose
  9. I’m Gettin’ Money
  10. Lie to Kick It (feat. Richie Rich)
  11. Fuck All Y’all
  12. Let Them Thangs Go
  13. Definition of a Thug Nigga

Disc 2

  1. Ready 4 Whatever (feat. Big Syke)
  2. When I Get Free
  3. Hold On Be Strong
  4. I’m Losin’ It (feat. Big Syke and Spice 1)
  5. Fake Ass Bitches
  6. Do for Love (feat. Eric Williams of BLACKstreet)
  7. Enemies with Me (feat. Dramacydal)
  8. Nothin’ But Love
  9. 16 on Death Row
  10. I Wonder If Heaven Got a Ghetto (Hip-Hop Version)
  11. When I Get Free II
  12. Black Starry Night (Interlude)
  13. Only Fear of Death

Written by Mike Duquette

June 20, 2011 at 14:55

Posted in 2Pac, Digital, News, Reissues

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Did he participate in these? 😉


    June 21, 2011 at 09:37

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: