The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

Hip-o Select Goes Grunge on Newest Release

leave a comment »

In 1980, Andrew Wood, his brother Kevin and drummer Regan Hagar formed a band named Malfunkshun in the Woods’ native Bainbridge Island, Washington. They only released two tracks in their existence, but the outfit is considered one of the forefathers of the burgeoning grunge movement that blossomed from the Seattle area in the late ’80s and early ’90s.

Now, in a year that’s already full (or conceivably full) of commemorative grunge projects, Hip-o Select is releasing a three-disc set chronicling the short but influential career of Malfunkshun and the short but influential life of Andrew Wood. The singer/songwriter struggled with drug abuse throughout his time on Earth, even as he reached a new plateau of success as frontman for Mother Love Bone in the early ’90s (featuring Stone Gossard and Jeff Ament, who would later join Pearl Jam after Wood’s passing). A documentary about Wood was completed and screened in 2005 and gets its debut release on DVD in this package.

The set also contains two discs’ worth of audio goodness. One is a reissue of Return to Olympus, a posthumous compilation of Malfunkshun material which Gossard helped release in 1995 and appended with the two released tracks from the band on the C/Z Records compilation Deep Six (1986). The other is another disc of unreleased solo and interview material composed by Wood, culminating with a previously-unreleased track that Wood produced for his former roommate, Soundgarden frontman Chris Cornell.

This limited edition set (topped out at 5,000 copies) is yours to order here. The full track breakdown is after the jump.

Malfunkshun, Malfunkshun: The Andrew Wood Story (Hip-o Select/A&M, 2011)

Disc 1: Return to Olympus (recorded 1986-1987, originally released as Loosegroove Records CD BK66657, 1995)

  1. Enter Landrew
  2. My Only Fan
  3. Mr. Liberty (with Morals)
  4. Jezebel Woman
  5. Shotgun Wedding
  6. Wang Dang Sweet Poontang
  7. Until the Ocean
  8. I Wanna Be Yo’ Daddy
  9. Winter Bites
  10. Make Sweet Love
  11. Region
  12. Luxury Bed (The Rocketship Chair)
  13. Exit Landrew
  14. With Yo’ Heart (Not Yo’ Hands)
  15. Stars-N-You

Tracks 14-15 from Deep Six compilation – C/Z Records CZ 01, 1986

Disc 2: Andrew Wood – Melodies and Dreams (all tracks previously unreleased)

  1. Landrew (Intro)
  2. To Praise Its Name
  3. Landrew (Back from Olympus)
  4. My Star
  5. Andy (About Stone)
  6. Dream Come True
  7. Straight Laced
  8. Landrew (Reminiscing)
  9. Forever on Stage
  10. Sweet Sebastian
  11. Landrew (Interview on KRAB)
  12. Makes Me Feel Like Heaven
  13. If I Was in Charge of the World
  14. Landrew (Flash Station ID)
  15. Justa Blue Eyed
  16. Landrew (About Movie)
  17. Drop Your Bomb
  18. Landrew (Floundersome Interview)
  19. Question of Will
  20. This Time
  21. Landrew (About Piano)
  22. Until the Ocean (Instrumental)
  23. Evening at the RH
  24. Landrew (KCMU Interview)
  25. Cool Marmalade
  26. Landrew (KFA Station ID)
  27. Paper Buy You Nothin’
  28. Landrew (Signing Off)
  29. Lord I See
  30. Chris Cornell (Living with Andy)
  31. Island of Summer – Chris Cornell

Disc 3: Malfunkshun: The Andrew Wood Story (2005 documentary – previously unreleased on DVD)

Written by Mike Duquette

June 20, 2011 at 09:43

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: